Topic Title: Amd display driver has stopped working and does not recover
Topic Summary: new build driver issues, tried 13.12, 14.4 issue still there.
Created On: 04/30/2014 09:57 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/30/2014 09:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hexen
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/30/2014

Hey guys, I have a bit of an issue with my new build. It boots up fine, but sporadically and randomly (no pattern that I can see) blackscreens and looses the hdmi signal. Only once did the drivers recover (I gave them 20mins to recover at one point, which they did not. However on the occasion they did recover the screen was only black for 5 seconds.) which is how I was able to figure out they were the issue. I am not really sure what to do here, any help would be great! build is

Motherboard: MSI Z87-G41 PC MATE
CPU: i5 4670k
psu: corsair builder series cx 600w
gpu: Gigabyte r9 270x
ram: kingston hyper x blu 2x4gb

Hdd: WD Blue 1tb 3.5 inch

OS is windows 8.1

Also, I have tried both 14.4 and 13.12 versions of catalyst, the one time they did recover was on 13.12 but havent recovered again since.

 05/14/2014 03:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jasonsilzle
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/14/2014

I have the same thing happening but I'm not connected via HDMI I am using three Dell 24" Display port monitors. They are all hooked up to one of my two HD6990s

 

I also don't see all my HD6990s in the catalyst anymore I only see two drop downs and I used to see 4. I only have two cards but I assumed that I saw 4 because the HD 6990 is allready a dual card.

 

please help me stop these random blackouts that cause me to reboot . many times it takes several reboots to get back up and running



-------------------------

Windows 8.1 64bit
6 Core i7 OC 4ghz
24GB Ram
8TB SATA Raid (Storage)
256GB RAID SSD (OS)
Dual HD6990s

 05/14/2014 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: jasonsilzle I have the same thing happening but I'm not connected via HDMI I am using three Dell 24" Display port monitors. They are all hooked up to one of my two HD6990s

 

 

 

I also don't see all my HD6990s in the catalyst anymore I only see two drop downs and I used to see 4. I only have two cards but I assumed that I saw 4 because the HD 6990 is allready a dual card.

 

 

 

please help me stop these random blackouts that cause me to reboot . many times it takes several reboots to get back up and running

 

Use the issue reporting form and use older drivers that worked for you, until the issue gets fixed.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84719 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.