Topic Title: Unable to update drivers
Topic Summary: New display drivers not working
Created On: 05/24/2014 12:06 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/24/2014 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vath
Peon

I should mention right now that I am not well versed in ATI graphics cards and their workings, as prior to my current graphics card I have no experience using them.

Alright, this is a bit of a strange situation so I'll try to give as much information as possible to try to make this make sense.

I am (supposedly) running an ATI Radeon HD 6750 on Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit.  I am also using an Intel Core i7 processor.  My computer is a desktop, to be specific a Gateway FX 6860.

The reason I said my graphics card is "supposedly" an ATI Radeon HD 6750 is because my software says it's something else.  According to my device manager, dxdiag and Catalyst Control Center, it is an ATI 5000 series.

Now, I have done my research to the best of my ability to make sure I was downloading the correct drivers.  At first, I allowed the auto-detect utility to run, except it greeted me with the error: "Unable to connect to server, could not parse error."  I decided to just get the correct drivers manually off the site.

I selected the drivers for "Windows 8.1/Windows 8/Windows 7 (64-bit)" under "Latest AMD Catalyst™ Drivers for Radeon™ R9 200, R7 200, HD 7000, HD 6000 and HD 5000 Series" on the Drivers + Support page.  As far as I can tell, regardless of whether my graphics card is 5000 series or 6750, that appeared to be the correct one.