Topic Title: My display doesn't 'wake' during the morning so to speak
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/31/2014 02:44 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/15/2014 06:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emopunk
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 04/21/2014

Originally posted by: Eydee Take a note, people, you won't find bios updates for video cards. Manufacturers stopped providing them for everyone because people flashed anything they could find. Sapphire was probably the first to introduce this new policy.

 

You need to contact Sapphire tech support, explain your problem and request a bios update. This is the only way to get a proper one.

 

I can confirm this to be the policy adopted by MSI, too.



-------------------------
We need to concentrate on more than meets the eye
 06/19/2014 02:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Solid State Brain
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 05/31/2014

I really just meant "newer" rather than "updated" video BIOS. I'm aware that most manufacturers won't provide them and that I did this knowing the possible risks that flashing a BIOS involves. Anyway, that didn't fix anything. This is something that probably has to be solved at a driver level.

I sent a detailed report through the AMD Beta driver issue reporting form; I hope AMD engineers will take a look.

 06/27/2014 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Solid State Brain
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 05/31/2014

Bug still occurs as of Catalyst 14.6 RC2.

 06/27/2014 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Keep hitting the issue reporting form.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/29/2014 12:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 811
Joined: 01/05/2013

Don't use "wake up" or other useless features for a streamlined PC.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 06/29/2014 04:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Solid State Brain
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 05/31/2014

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong Don't use "wake up" or other useless features for a streamlined PC.

And I will state once again that I will not accept this as a "solution" for this problem.

 06/29/2014 05:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Solid State Brain
Originally posted by: UcouldBrong Don't use "wake up" or other useless features for a streamlined PC.

 

And I will state once again that I will not accept this as a "solution" for this problem.

 

 

And you are correct.

You should not have to compromize your experience in my opinion.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/29/2014 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emopunk
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 04/21/2014

Originally posted by: Solid State Brain Bug still occurs as of Catalyst 14.6 RC2.

 

Indeed, this problem looks quite hard to sort out. Keeping my hopes low at this point

As Eydee suggests, let's keep reportin the issue with the proper form. Otherwise they can't know how to help. As you saw, they solved the fishbowl+flash video BSOD I reported.



-------------------------
We need to concentrate on more than meets the eye
 07/16/2014 05:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

I have same issue on w8.1 using AMD CPU , no Intel whatsoever.

Suspect it is CCC (am on 14.4).

See my previous post.

Any fix for this?

Frank



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

 07/16/2014 06:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Solid State Brain
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 05/31/2014

I wouldn't want to speak too soon, but it appears that the latest Catalyst 14.7 RC beta drivers either fixed this problem for me or greatly decreased it. I haven't experienced it yet since I installed them.

 07/16/2014 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snimo
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/16/2014

Solid state Brian, any more issues since you installed the 14.7 RC ?

 

im going to try installing them tonight?

 07/16/2014 10:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Solid State Brain
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 05/31/2014

@Snimo: I've been using 14.7 RC since the day they got released and I have experienced this monitor wake up issue not even once. Maybe it finally got fixed, but I guess it's still too early to tell (sorry, I have been burned too many times already by seemingly working solutions which ended up not solving anything with this).

I would suggest trying to install them, anyway.

 07/16/2014 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

OK I'll try 14.7 and see if that works.



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

 07/16/2014 01:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emopunk
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 04/21/2014

Originally posted by: Solid State Brain @Snimo: I've been using 14.7 RC since the day they got released and I have experienced this monitor wake up issue not even once. Maybe it finally got fixed, but I guess it's still too early to tell (sorry, I have been burned too many times already by seemingly working solutions which ended up not solving anything with this).

 

I would suggest trying to install them, anyway.

 

Since I have been reporting this issue myself, and I have 14.7 installed, I will try to enable monitor stand-by again and let you people know if it's fixed. Regards!!



-------------------------
We need to concentrate on more than meets the eye
 07/17/2014 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steenss
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/17/2014

I didn't have the no wake from sleep issue until 14.7 RC1... Interestingly, wake from sleep works if the sleep period is short. Anything over 1 hour is toast. I'm running old hardware, 5770 & Win8.1. PCIe link state power management settings make no difference. PSU, RAM, SSD, HDD are all fine.

 07/17/2014 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Solid State Brain
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 05/31/2014

@steenss: it could be that AMD tweaked something in their latest drivers that fixed or mitigated the problem for some people (like me... and I use my system pretty much 24/7, making the display sleep relatively often during the day) and made it occur for others. Since it seems to happen irrespectively of the system chipset and videocard architecture it could be an incompatibility issue between AMD videocards in general and some LCD displays. What's yours? Mine is a Dell U2412M rev. A00 (2013). By the way, I'm on Windows 8.1 64bit too.

 

 07/17/2014 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gr8sho
Peon

Posts: 25
Joined: 11/23/2013

I've read through this thread completely and will throw my $0.02 in.  I have an all AMD/ASUS system and experience this display wake problem under certain conditions.  If I have iTunes running and the display goes to sleep, I cannot wake it directly. If iTunes is not running, I have no problems.

There's a 70% success rate if I use the Win-P function to move the display output to say projector and then move it back to LCD.  Windows has to detect some type of fail condition to reset the display.

All this with Windows 8.1.1.



-------------------------

Crosshair V Formula, AMD FX 8350 @4.8GHz, Radeon HD 7970 DiamondMM CrossFireX,  CoolerMaster 1200W SilentProGold, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz (2x8GB)

 07/17/2014 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

itunes issue ???? I shall lookout for that as I have itunes as well. I have installed 14.7 yesterday and issue still happens.

Will post results later.

Frank

 



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

 07/17/2014 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Solid State Brain
Peon

Posts: 32
Joined: 05/31/2014

I've never used iTunes, if that helps. For what matters, I haven't found any correlation so far with the programs I use, anyway. I tried to used different ones too and that didn't solve the problem when I used to experience it on a daily basis.

 07/17/2014 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

so that leaves CCC in the frame!

Any comments form AMD tecchies ?

 



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

Statistics
86369 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.