Topic Title: Cata 14.4 Gives random Bsod
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/10/2014 03:10 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/11/2014 07:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Do not rush to upgrade any hardware just yet.

 

Have you tried a different or better quality cable for each monitor ?

Make sure each cable have good electromagnetic interference protection.

 

(i am flipping you out, aren't i ?)

 

HDMI cable connection can unfortunately cause problems for some users and it can also greatly depend on the system, monitor and driver used.

I remember i had scaling problems with a dvi-d to hdmi adapter in the past (bought a super quality dvi-d cable and had not any problems for years).

 

Can you also try each monitor on a different (good working-stable) computer ? It could be a broken/ damaged input connection that interferes with the output display signal of your graphics card. Seen that before.

 

 

If you have the experience, time and ease to make a fresh clean install of the os after backing all your precious files/ documents to an external media, please do.

/WARNING/

If you do not know how to safely reinstall an os (which is fine by the way), DO NOT DO IT.

 

 

 

It's a suprise that no one seems to have similar problems or has, but doesn't step up.

Please take the time and effort to test a little longer.

 

Thanks for your feedback. Let us know if you find out anything else.

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12



Edited: 06/11/2014 at 09:01 AM by backFireX64
 06/11/2014 08:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sjeppie
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 06/10/2014

Tried a clean install this morning before school and when i tried to install the driver the screens gone to black. I hard restarted the pc and the screens were back but the mouse had gone. Think its getting from bad to worse.

I will fresh install when i'm back from school and try with the GTX 460 out of my data server. If that is completely trouble free i will know its the graphics card. 

(is it a idea to try windows 7 as well?)

Will test monitors, cables and on a another system

Keep you updated 

 

 



Edited: 06/11/2014 at 08:38 AM by Sjeppie
 06/11/2014 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Sjeppie Tried a clean install this morning before school and when i tried to install the driver the screens gone to black. I hard restarted the pc and the screens were back but the mouse had gone. Think its getting from bad to worse.

 

I will fresh install when i'm back from school and try with the GTX 460 out of my data server. If that is completely trouble free i will know its the graphics card. 

 

(is it a idea to try windows 7 as well?)

 

Will test monitors, cables and on a another system

 

Keep you updated 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, it's a good idea to test windows 7 as well, just to be sure.

I wouldn't bet that you would see any difference, but it doesn't hurt to try.

 

Make sure you try the gtx card on a clean windows installation.

Installing an amd card on a nvidia based pc (and vice versa) without formatting windows or, at least without properly uninstalling the drivers and leftover registry entries and files, could bring potential problems or driver issues.

 

Really appreciate your time and effort into this. It might also help others.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/11/2014 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sjeppie
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 06/10/2014

Now running the GTX 460 just installed driver everything seems to work fine. will test some games ect in a few. 

I'm afraid that its the card a friend of mine told me i could test it at his place has a HD 7970 as well so could do that.

 

The black spots are back. i'm going to run without my oc check it again and if it still is then i will be instsalling windows 7

So i think it's not the graphics card



Edited: 06/11/2014 at 12:46 PM by Sjeppie
 06/11/2014 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

I don't want to mess with your frustration at this point, but:

Where is that memtest result, mate ?

Is it good afterall ?

 

 

You are getting there .....



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/11/2014 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sjeppie
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 06/10/2014

Was too frustrated last night so i forgot that, will run it tonight

At the moment i think its either the memory or a corrupt windows 8.1 installation 

Making a bootable w7 installation as we speak

Maybe the motherboard?

 

Other way around now hehehehe

 06/12/2014 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sjeppie
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 06/10/2014

As far as i can see on windows 7 the problems have been solved.

 

So could this be a corrupted install of 8.1 or a driver problem in 8.1

 

Forgot to do the memory test again.....

 06/12/2014 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Sjeppie As far as i can see on windows 7 the problems have been solved.

 

 

 

So could this be a corrupted install of 8.1 or a driver problem in 8.1

 

 

 

 

 

Forgot to do the memory test again.....

 

 

 

You're gonna make me revert to windows 7, aren't you  Sjeppie ?

I mean, i am seriously considering this myself at this point.

Stick for a while with windows 7 and see if the problem makes an appearance (don't want to jinx it man).

Or try a reinstal of windows 8.1 and test again. If you immediately see it coming back, you will then be sure it's an os compatibility/ driver issue and keep the windows 7 os for now.

 

Thanks for the feedback and patience.

 

 

EDIT:   if you trully want to diagnose thoroughly your ram sticks (or the whole system for that matter), i suggest this professional bootable diagnostic software if you could get your hands a copy of that.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12



Edited: 06/12/2014 at 01:36 PM by backFireX64
 06/12/2014 11:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rhapdog
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 04/19/2013

I kept getting the same kind of BSOD for 1-1/2 years. It was very rare while using Windows 7, but when I upgraded to Windows 8.1, it became quite frequent.

Catalyst 14.4 increased the frequency of the BSOD even further.

Once I finally ran Memtest86, I discovered I had some bad RAM. I re-ran it, one stick at a time to determine which module was faulty. I then took the bad module out and rand on half memory until I could get it replaced. Fortunately, I was using a good brand that had the replacement memory to me the following morning after I called them. I packed up the bad in the box they sent, and cost me $8.55US shipping to send it back to them. Haven't had a BSOD since. You would be surprised at the types of BSOD you can have with bad memory, and it never seems to point to the memory.

Do yourself a favor. Take the time and run the Memtest86. Don't keep putting it off. I could have saved myself over a year of frustration had I just done it right the first time. 



-------------------------

“If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside.” – Robert X. Cringely

 06/13/2014 08:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: rhapdog I kept getting the same kind of BSOD for 1-1/2 years. It was very rare while using Windows 7, but when I upgraded to Windows 8.1, it became quite frequent.

 

Catalyst 14.4 increased the frequency of the BSOD even further.

 

Once I finally ran Memtest86, I discovered I had some bad RAM. I re-ran it, one stick at a time to determine which module was faulty. I then took the bad module out and rand on half memory until I could get it replaced. Fortunately, I was using a good brand that had the replacement memory to me the following morning after I called them. I packed up the bad in the box they sent, and cost me $8.55US shipping to send it back to them. Haven't had a BSOD since. You would be surprised at the types of BSOD you can have with bad memory, and it never seems to point to the memory.

 

Do yourself a favor. Take the time and run the Memtest86. Don't keep putting it off. I could have saved myself over a year of frustration had I just done it right the first time. 

 

 

Couldn't say it myself any better.

 

Though to test 16 gb of ram 100%, you would need lots of hours, and a few passes with a good bootable diagnostic tool, before windows boot.

Ram tests usually fail under 10 sec, half a minute or a minute, but i've seen ram errors appearing after lots of passes and consequent amount of accumulating heat.

 

Running the tests overnight is usually good practise.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/14/2014 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dooddude
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 06/14/2014

i jsut got my first bsod on 14.6 but its more stable.

 

14.4 is crap bsod everywhere

 06/14/2014 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: dooddude i jsut got my first bsod on 14.6 but its more stable.

 

 

 

14.4 is crap bsod everywhere

 

 

Does rhapdog's previous post help you ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/15/2014 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sjeppie
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 06/10/2014

Still no problems, the only time the driver crashed was when i was playing gw2 and unistalling ESET so i think it's something with ESET. 

 

very bussy with exams. testing the memory is still on the to do list

 06/15/2014 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Sjeppie Still no problems, the only time the driver crashed was when i was playing gw2 and unistalling ESET so i think it's something with ESET. 

 

 

 

very bussy with exams. testing the memory is still on the to do list

 

 

 

Best of luck with your exams man.

Ram tests can wait.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

Statistics
85363 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.