Topic Title: 14.6 produce artifacts in State of decay game
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/11/2014 05:10 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/11/2014 05:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stephanvos
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/11/2014

It seems that the beta 14.6 that improves performance for Watch_dogs broke State of decay. Producing artifact like lines and stretched polygons randomly in the game.  Reverting back to 14.4 fixes this issue.

Is AMD aware of this issue and will this be resolved in the 14.6 whql driver?

 06/11/2014 05:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: stephanvos Is AMD aware of this issue and will this be resolved in the 14.6 whql driver?

 

Probably not as I guess you haven't told them, considering you even skipped the "read before posting" sticky here, not to mention the one about how to report bugs...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/11/2014 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stephanvos
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/11/2014

I have reported it but just wanted to know if anyone else knows.

No need to be sarcastic.

 06/11/2014 06:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I love being sarcastic.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/11/2014 11:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: stephanvos It seems that the beta 14.6 that improves performance for Watch_dogs broke State of decay. Producing artifact like lines and stretched polygons randomly in the game.  Reverting back to 14.4 fixes this issue.

 

Is AMD aware of this issue and will this be resolved in the 14.6 whql driver?

 

 

Thanks for the feedback.

Just tested it myself and i can confirm artifacts in-game.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/16/2014 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Video driver hard crashed my system during state of decay playthrough (with random white artifacts).

Well, after i revised my theory of oc stability, i reduced my gpu oc by 20mhz and had not seen artifacts since. Temps were the same, before and after reducing oc and did not hint to heat issues.

 

Apparently i can now play crysis 3 with a higher oc than state of decay (!?)

 

There's a lesson to myself right there.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/16/2014 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Grinding Levels

Posts: 121
Joined: 02/07/2008

I just checked, and I notice artifacts as well in State of Decay. This is with 290x and 14.6 beta drivers.

 06/17/2014 02:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Qwixt I just checked, and I notice artifacts as well in State of Decay. This is with 290x and 14.6 beta drivers.

 

 

The problem lies in:

 

1. Overheating issues and/ or badly configured overclock

or

2. Driver software bug or user does not clean install drivers properly

or

3. Faulty/ malfunctioning dying card (the rarest of the three)

 

Mine was the first.

What's yours ?

 

Test and post back.

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/17/2014 05:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I have just discovered that it's a Steam-exclusive game, so I'm adding a wild guss: Try turning the overlay off.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/17/2014 08:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BEBlair
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 03/19/2014

So I am not the only one then that has noticed 14.6 causing artifacts? I suspected it to be bad driver coding. But 2 other people told me to exchange my GPU. So I called newegg and they told me to send my old one in and they will ship a new one.

But would this be pointless? Or Should I exchange it? Because I also get tiny checkerboard looking artifacts on the road while driving in far cry 3 no matter what driver I use.  And when I put my old 650 Ti back in I no longer get the checkboard artifacts in far cry 3. So besides Mafia 2 having artifacts with 14.6 beta, and Far Cry 3 getting the checkerboard artifacts with any driver I use,  All my other games are fine.



-------------------------

Intel i5 3470
Mobo: Biostar TZ77A
Ram: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600
GPU: HIS R9 270 iPower IceQ X² Boost Clock 2GB
PSU: Corsair CX600

 06/17/2014 08:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: BEBlair So I am not the only one then that has noticed 14.6 causing artifacts? I suspected it to be bad driver coding. But 2 other people told me to exchange my GPU. So I called newegg and they told me to send my old one in and they will ship a new one.

 

But would this be pointless? Or Should I exchange it? Because I also get tiny checkerboard looking artifacts on the road while driving in far cry 3 no matter what driver I use.  And when I put my old 650 Ti back in I no longer get the checkboard artifacts in far cry 3. So besides Mafia 2 having artifacts with 14.6 beta, and Far Cry 3 getting the checkerboard artifacts with any driver I use,  All my other games are fine.

 

 

Make absolutely sure that amd driver support are aware of your issues by sending this form:

http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B73



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/17/2014 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BEBlair
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 03/19/2014

I already reported the issues on 14.4 and 14.6

 

So should I exchange it? Do you guys think it's faulty V-Ram? I need to decide today.



-------------------------

Intel i5 3470
Mobo: Biostar TZ77A
Ram: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600
GPU: HIS R9 270 iPower IceQ X² Boost Clock 2GB
PSU: Corsair CX600

 06/17/2014 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: BEBlair I already reported the issues on 14.4 and 14.6

 

 

 

So should I exchange it? Do you guys think it's faulty V-Ram? I need to decide today.

 

If you have artifacts with multiple games, there's a good chance it's a faulty card.

If you have artifacts using multiple driver versions and it happens across multiple operating systems, there's a good chance you have a faulty card.

Make your testing, then decide.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/17/2014 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: BEBlair I already reported the issues on 14.4 and 14.6

 

 

 

So should I exchange it? Do you guys think it's faulty V-Ram? I need to decide today.

 

 

If you only have issues with 1-2 games, and you can live with that in the time being, then it's a driver bug that may or may not be solved in the near future.

So, assuming your card is in excellent condition, getting another card identical to it won't probably solve anything.

 

My suggestion is to test more games if possible (preferably demanding dx9 and dx11 games) and look for anything that can hint you to either a hardware or software (more likely) problem.

 

I will test mafia2 and far cry3 myself as soon as possible.

It's your call, i'll do the tests anyway.

 

Thanks for the feedback.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/17/2014 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dooddude
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 06/14/2014

i too reported the issues with the 14.x drivers on 290 cards but ATi/AMD dont even seem to be aware of it.

When i rang them up they didnt even know their was a issue nor do they seem to care, spamming of their driver fault report thing is useless as they just seem to ignore it.

 

16.7 is in the wind no idea wtf that is after waiting a month on these busted ass drivers its literally driving me nuts.

 06/17/2014 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

BEBlair:    a humble request: don't feed the troll lurking please ( it's nasty and getting bigger)

 

 

Benchmarking the games now.

I will post briefly with some, hopefully, good results.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/17/2014 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

No, mafia 2 and farcry 3 are running normal with crossfirex enabled for me, with catalyst 14.6 beta1, with good fps.

 

BEBlair:   it's either an R series cards driver bug or faulty gpu.

If you can't wait for the upcoming driver, RMA it just to be sure, in my opinion.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/17/2014 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Grinding Levels

Posts: 121
Joined: 02/07/2008

Originally posted by: backFireX64
Originally posted by: Qwixt I just checked, and I notice artifacts as well in State of Decay. This is with 290x and 14.6 beta drivers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The problem lies in:

 

 

 

1. Overheating issues and/ or badly configured overclock

 

or

 

2. Driver software bug or user does not clean install drivers properly

 

or

 

3. Faulty/ malfunctioning dying card (the rarest of the three)

 

 

 

Mine was the first.

 

What's yours ?

 

 

 

Test and post back.

 

Thanks.

 

 

I went to default clocks, then I went to a +5% OC, and the artifacts go away. But there are still rendering issues with a couple polygons drawing long lines across teh screen when it draws shadows or reflections, even at default clocks.

When I was playing around with custom game settings, I forced AA on at 4xEQ then 8x, and half of the screen did not render properly, like nothing but the ground and transparent character.

 

 06/17/2014 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Qwixt

 

I went to default clocks, then I went to a +5% OC, and the artifacts go away. But there are still rendering issues with a couple polygons drawing long lines across teh screen when it draws shadows or reflections, even at default clocks.

 

When I was playing around with custom game settings, I forced AA on at 4xEQ then 8x, and half of the screen did not render properly, like nothing but the ground and transparent character.

 

 

This usually happens if the VRAM gets unstable either because of heat, overclocking, or being faulty. I suggest you underclock the VRAM by a higher amount and check again.

To test if it is a driver bug, it's a good idea to try an operating system that has a completely different driver architecture. Windows XP, or linux I mean. Neither has anything to do with the WDDM driver 7 and 8 has.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/17/2014 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

I went to default clocks, then I went to a +5% OC, and the artifacts go away. But there are still rendering issues with a couple polygons drawing long lines across teh screen when it draws shadows or reflections, even at default clocks.

When I was playing around with custom game settings, I forced AA on at 4xEQ then 8x, and half of the screen did not render properly, like nothing but the ground and transparent character.

 

 

That's weird.

 

AA methods can hog the vram. Rendering problems from aa is a bad sign in my opinion. Logic dictates it's a vram issue.

I'm no expert though. It could be a driver bug for all i know, because if you don't observe this problem on other games then it should not be a hardware issue.

I usually format windows and reinstall everything just to be sure.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

Statistics
86473 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.