Topic Title: 14.6 produce artifacts in State of decay game
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/11/2014 05:10 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/17/2014 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Well, i just tested state of decay with the aa methods you used earlier, and got the same rendering problems.

So either we both have faulty vram or the game engine/ coding does not support certain types of aa.

I think it's the second one.

 

I'll test some more games and post back.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/17/2014 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Batman arkham city (dx11) and silent hill 2-director's cut (dx9) run without rendering problems on 4xeq or 8x forced through ccc.

So, state of decay seems to be still on beta.......... or it needs a new profile.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/17/2014 01:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BEBlair
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/19/2014

I reinstalled Windows, Believe me I have tried many different things. And I tested many games VS my GTX 650 Ti. Which was a pain to do as quick as I could, It is obviously not the drivers and it is a V-Ram problem, (sorry to whoever told me it was the V-Ram before) Even though my V-Ram is bad, More than likely the problem is it is not as bad as others, This would explain why it can run fine in only some situations and not be as bad as other peoples V-Ram problems. I will box it up and send it in. I have my 650 Ti I can use until I get my new one back. So I will have to turn some of my game settings to medium. This is a shame, I really enjoyed this card when I first got it.



-------------------------

Intel i5 3470
Mobo: Biostar TZ77A
Ram: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600
GPU: HIS R9 270 iPower IceQ X² Boost Clock 2GB
PSU: Corsair CX600

 06/17/2014 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: BEBlair I reinstalled Windows, Believe me I have tried many different things. And I tested many games VS my GTX 650 Ti. Which was a pain to do as quick as I could, It is obviously not the drivers and it is a V-Ram problem, (sorry to whoever told me it was the V-Ram before) Even though my V-Ram is bad, More than likely the problem is it is not as bad as others, This would explain why it can run fine in only some situations and not be as bad as other peoples V-Ram problems. I will box it up and send it in. I have my 650 Ti I can use until I get my new one back. So I will have to turn some of my game settings to medium. This is a shame, I really enjoyed this card when I first got it.

 

 

Thanks for the time and effort to give your personal feedback.

I wish that all goes well when the new card arrives.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/17/2014 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BEBlair
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/19/2014

Me too, And thanks people for putting up with my melodramatic/angry ranting!

I am taking it to UPS after I eat lunch.



-------------------------

Intel i5 3470
Mobo: Biostar TZ77A
Ram: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600
GPU: HIS R9 270 iPower IceQ X² Boost Clock 2GB
PSU: Corsair CX600

 06/19/2014 02:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 99
Joined: 02/07/2008

I read on the State of Decay forum that reverting back to 14.4 whql version should fix it.

 06/19/2014 10:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Qwixt I read on the State of Decay forum that reverting back to 14.4 whql version should fix it.

 

 

Nope, it didn't fix it for me.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/23/2014 07:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 99
Joined: 02/07/2008

That's unfortunate. I will see what happens when I get my replacement card, and I will load the 14.4 drivers this time instead of 14.6 beta. From reading the game forum, it really sounded like most if not all had the problem go away with 14.4.

 06/24/2014 09:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Qwixt That's unfortunate. I will see what happens when I get my replacement card, and I will load the 14.4 drivers this time instead of 14.6 beta. From reading the game forum, it really sounded like most if not all had the problem go away with 14.4.

 

 

Have you tried forcing 4xEQ or 8xEQ aa through ccc on 14.4 whql ?

That is when i get rendering problems on-screen.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/24/2014 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 99
Joined: 02/07/2008

Yea, I originally mentioned that in an earlier post. So just hours away from delivery now, and I will try the new 14.6RC drivers first.

 06/24/2014 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Qwixt Yea, I originally mentioned that in an earlier post. So just hours away from delivery now, and I will try the new 14.6RC drivers first.

 

 

Oh, sorry about that mate.

 

I tried 14.6 RC2, but the same rendering problems (missing textures, transparent textures) when forcing aa through ccc still persists.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/24/2014 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 99
Joined: 02/07/2008

Yep, 14.6RC still have the same problem for me, but considering that these drivers enhance wildstar performance, I will stick with them. Maybe there will be some game fixes once the drivers make it to whql status. Right now, they are blaming everything on the beta status, and that it is a driver issue.

 06/24/2014 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Qwixt Yep, 14.6RC still have the same problem for me, but considering that these drivers enhance wildstar performance, I will stick with them. Maybe there will be some game fixes once the drivers make it to whql status. Right now, they are blaming everything on the beta status, and that it is a driver issue.

 

 

We will have a much better chance for this to be resolved if we send a report of the problem to the AMD driver team

 

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/24/2014 11:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 99
Joined: 02/07/2008

After further testing, I think there is a problem with the drivers, and I plan on filling out the problem report.

I went back to 14.4, and turned off all O/C on card, which removed artifacts and strange lines drawn on the screen. It ran fine for me. With 14.6, even with no O/C, I still have problems with the random lines drawn here and there.

This game is still hypersensitive to O/Cing.

 06/25/2014 08:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

If you get artifacts that means you are not completely stable with the oc.

I reduced my own gpu oc to my thoroughly tested stable oc for my gpu (930mhz). I recently raised it to 950mhz on core, but it seems it's not stable enough, so downclocked again to 930mhz.

 

When i test my cpu or gpu oc, i make sure that i pass as many benchmarks/ tests as possible.

Example for cpu:

If i past all tests but fail intel burn test, it's not stable.

It probably won't show in every game/ application, but a time will come that your system crashes.

If you have a 100% stable oc, you start looking elsewhere.

If you are 99% stable, then you'll have to do additional testing, won't you ?

Additional effort and time consumption.

 

Same goes for gpu.

Test additional games, like crysis3, and see if you are stable.

Yes, some games are more prone to show an unstable oc, but that's because you are not 100% stable.

 

It all comes to personal preferences.

I personally like to have an 100% stable system on all pc components 24/7.

It helps me better to diagnose a software or hardware problem when i need/ have to and prolongs vitality. Assuming i do not overvolt.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/26/2014 01:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 99
Joined: 02/07/2008

Yep, I have eliminated the artifacts. The textures/polygons or whatever they are still persist in State of Decay with 14.6 drivers. The game works fine in 14.4, but I will wait till the dev or amd fixes the problem.

 06/26/2014 08:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Qwixt Yep, I have eliminated the artifacts. The textures/polygons or whatever they are still persist in State of Decay with 14.6 drivers. The game works fine in 14.4, but I will wait till the dev or amd fixes the problem.

 

 

You should only get texture rendering problems when forcing aa.

If that's the case, we should probably expect/ demand a patch from the developer as well.

If you still have issues, reduce oc or reinstall game to make sure.

 

If you had similar abnormal problems in other games, that would hint to bad vram, bad gpu, system ram, insufficient power from PSU, etc.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/26/2014 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 99
Joined: 02/07/2008

Here is the steam forum post that has a few pics of what it looks like with 14.6 drivers.

I have the card working fine expect for this one game with the type of glitches shown in that thread. The 14.4 drivers work properly however. I am not sure whether Amd or the dev need to fix their code.

 06/26/2014 06:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

I don't see the link mate.

 

I would suggest that you stick with 14.4 whql, finish that game after 120 hours and then consider updating the driver.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/26/2014 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 99
Joined: 02/07/2008

Doh, I guess I forgot to copy it like an idiot.

http://steamcommunity.com/app/241540/discussions/0/540744934956333999/

 

Statistics
84977 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.