Topic Title: XFX 260X not respondning to HDMI
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/26/2014 07:26 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/26/2014 07:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
solidusss
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/26/2014

I've just bought a new XFX 260X and installed Windows 7 64bit on a fresh harddrive. The only drivers that works with HDMI is the one that came with the CD (13.25). As soon as I try 14.4 or 14.6 RC2 the driver starts to ignore the HDMI signal.

 I have tried a few other HDMI cables too without any success. I have tried to plug in my PC with VGA and it works.. but I want HDMI.

How long until AMD fixes this issue? Im planning on buying a Nvidia card instead.

 06/26/2014 07:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7271
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: solidusss   Im planning on buying a Nvidia card instead.

 

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 06/26/2014 at 08:25 PM by stumped
 06/26/2014 07:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Keep the older HDMI audio driver and (custom) install all the rest from the latest catalyst software.

 

Or get a quality dvi-d cable.

Problem solved (?).

 

Or did you mean video signal as well ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/26/2014 07:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
solidusss
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/26/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 Keep the older HDMI audio driver and (custom) install all the rest from the latest catalyst software.

 

 

 

Or get a quality dvi-d cable.

 

Problem solved (?).

 

 

 

Or did you mean video signal as well ?

 



As soon  as I install 14.4 or 14.6 drivers the PC goes through POST screen and windows 7 bootloader, but when the logon should appear it just get black screen on HDMI and says "No signal". I know it is a driver problem because this does not happend in 13.25 drivers. However the vga output seems to be wokring fine. But I want HDMI...

 06/26/2014 07:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

You clean installed ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/26/2014 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
solidusss
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/26/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 You clean installed ?

 


Yes, clean install of Windows 7 64bit. I use a 32" Samsung TV as monitor and have tried diffrent HDMI cables without any success

 06/26/2014 07:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7271
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: solidusss
Originally posted by: backFireX64 You clean installed ?

 

Yes, clean install of Windows 7 64bit. I use a 32" Samsung TV as monitor and have tried diffrent HDMI cables without any success

He means clean install the graphics drivers. The old drivers must be removed.

To install new AMD graphics drivers:

1. IMPORTANT: All Windows Updates should be current, including the 'optional/suggested' updates
2. IMPORTANT: Disable all anti-virus/ad blockers/anti-malware/ anti-anything before trying to install
3. IMPORTANT: Netframework is required and must be the latest version. (from Windows Update)

 
Create a system restore point before, just in case.

Download the drivers for your computer to the desktop. Follow steps 1-5 ( http://support.amd.com/en-us/download ).
 Do not use 'auto-detect and install.

Delete existing drivers from your computer:

In computer control panel select 'uninstall a program'

For computers with Intel processors:
Select AMD install manager and choose 'express uninstall all AMD software'
Including the install manager.

For computers with AMD processors:
Select AMD install manager and 'custom uninstall' the graphics drivers and CCC only.

Reboot

Install the new driver suite.

Reboot



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/26/2014 08:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Sorry, i meant clean installed the gpu drivers.

 

edit:  thanks stumped



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/26/2014 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
solidusss
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/26/2014

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: solidusss
Originally posted by: backFireX64 You clean installed ?

 

 

 

Yes, clean install of Windows 7 64bit. I use a 32" Samsung TV as monitor and have tried diffrent HDMI cables without any success

 

 

He means clean install the graphics drivers. The old drivers must be removed.

 

To install new AMD graphics drivers:

 

1. IMPORTANT: All Windows Updates should be current, including the 'optional/suggested' updates 2. IMPORTANT: Disable all anti-virus/ad blockers/anti-malware/ anti-anything before trying to install 3. IMPORTANT: Netframework is required and must be the latest version. (from Windows Update)

 

  Create a system restore point before, just in case.

 

Download the drivers for your computer to the desktop. Follow steps 1-5 ( http://support.amd.com/en-us/download ).  Do not use 'auto-detect and install.

 

Delete existing drivers from your computer:

 

In computer control panel select 'uninstall a program'

 

For computers with Intel processors: Select AMD install manager and choose 'express uninstall all AMD software' Including the install manager.

 

For computers with AMD processors: Select AMD install manager and 'custom uninstall' the graphics drivers and CCC only.

 

Reboot

 

Install the new driver suite.

 

Reboot

 



Yes, I have done that. Thank you anyway

 06/26/2014 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 894
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: solidusss   Im planning on buying a Nvidia card instead.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Never fails!

And as usual they never read the stickies and post what is asked of them.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=160419&enterthread=y

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/26/2014 09:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

As said a million times, HDMI is for DVD players, use DVI. And no one cares if you buy an nvidia card. I do have nvidia cards as well. Have you ever seen me boasting about them?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/26/2014 09:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

As said a million times, HDMI is for DVD players, use DVI

 

Or for consoles .......



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/27/2014 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
solidusss
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/26/2014

But my monitor does not have DVI... that is why I need HDMI to work. Too bad the drivers aren't working properly

Statistics
86379 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.