Topic Title: 295x + 14.4/14.6 beta drivers problem
Topic Summary: My bf4 doesn't start or crashes when I alt-tab the game.
Created On: 06/29/2014 12:41 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/29/2014 12:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
caste1200
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 07/19/2009

Hello,

I just bought a 295x from sapphire,

trying the 14.6 beta drivers was giving me a terrible performance on games, around half the fps I was getting with the 14.4,

 

the problem now is that my bf4 keeps crashing everytime I alt-tab the app, or sometimes when I launch the game..my full system crashes and I get a distorted screen or just a black screen..I think also there is a major performance issue with the card..im getting less performance than a 7990 (testint side by side with a friend same settings etc...) around 80 fps at 1080p & Ultra...wich is not a big improvement from my last 7970...

my friend get the same performance runing on DX11 while I get the same performance as him runing on mantle! playing on dx11 is almost unplayable!

I need help! just spend a lot of money on this and until now its just good to give me headeaks...

Specs:

Windows 7 Ultimate 64x

Eyefinity setup(60fps average with the 295x at ultra no AA and 130 res scale.

Asus Crosshair Formula V 1703 BIOS

tried diferent Bios settings, same thing, now runing default settings..

AMD FX8350 (was overclocked to 4,7 now runing stock clock for testing if it was because of the cpu overclock)

AMD R9 295x stock clocks

14.10.1006-140417a-171099C drivers

14.4 CCC

runing on an SSD

Corsair AX1200i PSU (with the proper settings to run the card via the corsair Link, with OCP enabled at 40A per cable)

 

thanks!

 

thanks!



-------------------------

Windows 7 Ultimate, Samsung SSD 840 PRO, AMD FX-8350 + Corsair H100i, Asus Crosshair Formula V, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1866 mhz, AMD R9 295X, Corsair AX1200i PSU.

 06/29/2014 01:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Hi.

Do you install gpu drivers on top, or do you clean install them ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/29/2014 02:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
caste1200
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 07/19/2009

hi, I use driver sweeper ( I beive is called Display Driver Uninstaller now), and clean install everytime



-------------------------

Windows 7 Ultimate, Samsung SSD 840 PRO, AMD FX-8350 + Corsair H100i, Asus Crosshair Formula V, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1866 mhz, AMD R9 295X, Corsair AX1200i PSU.

 06/29/2014 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Well, your thread title and your post contradict each other. The title suggests 14.4 has the same issue while in your post you say you have double the fps with the WHQL drivers. Which one?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/29/2014 02:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
caste1200
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 07/19/2009

my problem is the game crashing, the fact that with 14.6 beta drivers I get a terrible performance is just another problem, with 14.4 I get slightly better performance but it crashes the game



-------------------------

Windows 7 Ultimate, Samsung SSD 840 PRO, AMD FX-8350 + Corsair H100i, Asus Crosshair Formula V, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1866 mhz, AMD R9 295X, Corsair AX1200i PSU.

 06/29/2014 02:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Try DDU in safe mode as well.

Driver sweeper is outdated and can cause problems.

Paid version of treexy driver fusion (the spiritual succesor) is very good too.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/29/2014 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
caste1200
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 07/19/2009

DDU is what im using, used it in safe mode.



-------------------------

Windows 7 Ultimate, Samsung SSD 840 PRO, AMD FX-8350 + Corsair H100i, Asus Crosshair Formula V, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1866 mhz, AMD R9 295X, Corsair AX1200i PSU.

 06/29/2014 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Yea...............

And to think i had just read your post before posting myself........

 

Sorry about that, just ignore my previous post



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/29/2014 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Have you tried a previous driver like 14.3 BETA, 14.1BETA, etc. ?

 

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/29/2014 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: caste1200 my problem is the game crashing, the fact that with 14.6 beta drivers I get a terrible performance is just another problem, with 14.4 I get slightly better performance but it crashes the game

 

I see. Could you post the crash details from the event viewer?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/29/2014 05:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
caste1200
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 07/19/2009

 

error

this is what happens, I have only one error on the event viewer but it already happend more than once..and only one error log was found.

 

"Faulting application name: bf4cte.exe, version: 1.0.2.4317, time stamp: 0x53adc156

Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 6.1.7601.18409, time stamp: 0x5315a05a

Exception code: 0x00011006

Fault offset: 0x000000000000940d

Faulting process id: 0x1bd4

Faulting application start time: 0x01cf92f240374cd1

Faulting application path: D:\Juegos\Origin\Games\Battlefield 4 CTE\bf4cte.exe

Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\KERNELBASE.dll

Report Id: a1dad3aa-fee5-11e3-9b2f-14dae9049edc"

 

&

 

"Faulting application name: bf4.exe, version: 1.2.0.2, time stamp: 0x537eb51a

Faulting module name: amdmantle64.dll, version: 9.1.10.13, time stamp: 0x53508a20

Exception code: 0xc0000005

Fault offset: 0x0000000000056dd8

Faulting process id: 0x179c

Faulting application start time: 0x01cf8f3d5f8887b9

Faulting application path: C:\Games\Battlefield 4\bf4.exe

Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\amdmantle64.dll

Report Id: f1370212-fb31-11e3-9f89-14dae9049edc"



-------------------------

Windows 7 Ultimate, Samsung SSD 840 PRO, AMD FX-8350 + Corsair H100i, Asus Crosshair Formula V, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1866 mhz, AMD R9 295X, Corsair AX1200i PSU.

 06/29/2014 06:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Why are you running bf4 with mantle (yes, i've read your post carefully) ? And on Chrome ?

Cpu is more than enough to push some good amount of frames out of that beast dual-gpu card of yours.

 

Suggestions:

 

1. Test another browser, like firefox or IE. Chrome is known to have bugs and conflicts with amd drivers.

2. Go to CCC, Gaming, 3d application settings and add a custom bf4 .exe profile with crossfirex disabled.

3. Test the game on dx11 again with one gpu (crossfirex disabled).



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/30/2014 01:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
caste1200
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 07/19/2009

I have chrome because all my devices are running chrome..tablet..phone etc..so its easy to have everything conected.. and ive been using it for years now and never had a problem with it! 

chrome crashing is just because the entire system crashes while playing bf4, I just wanted to show the weird particles I get around the screen.

I play on mantle because on dx11 is unplayable for some reason, I'll try to disable crossfire and see what happens..

 

thanky for the help i'll keep the post updated! 



-------------------------

Windows 7 Ultimate, Samsung SSD 840 PRO, AMD FX-8350 + Corsair H100i, Asus Crosshair Formula V, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1866 mhz, AMD R9 295X, Corsair AX1200i PSU.



Edited: 06/30/2014 at 01:51 AM by caste1200
 06/30/2014 02:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
caste1200
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 07/19/2009

results:

Xfireoff DX11: 10fps

xfireoff mantle: 107fps

xfire default mode dx11: 70fps

xfire AFR mode dx11: 75fps

xfire 1x1 mode dx11: 35-55fps

xfire amd bf4 profile mode dx11: 77fps

 

more testing on the gpu usage later when xfire is off later..



-------------------------

Windows 7 Ultimate, Samsung SSD 840 PRO, AMD FX-8350 + Corsair H100i, Asus Crosshair Formula V, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1866 mhz, AMD R9 295X, Corsair AX1200i PSU.

 06/30/2014 06:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Don't get me wrong.

I totally agree that you should not compromise anything, whether browser or any software on your pc.

 

By seeing the results, i think something is seriously wrong with either the drivers, your driver installation or the card itself.

Only way to be 100% sure would be a clean windows installation, closing the internet, and installing the 14.4 drivers which is the latest whql driver.

But i understand that would be a drag process.

 

Try the 13.12 whql drivers as well.

10 fps for one 290x gpu on dx11 is too low.

You can try reinstalling dx as well, but it shouldn't change anything.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/30/2014 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

You can also try different games in dx11 and mantle, like thief, and see if the card performs well.

If you have no dx issues on other demanding good quality games, and fps performance is as expected, then i suggest you reinstall BF4 game with all the latest patches.

 

The sad fact is that ea forums are plagued with similar complaints and problems with this game from the launch till now.

So test your card with other games, do the comparisons, and you'll have a better idea what's wrong and what works.

 

Reinstall os only as a last resort.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/30/2014 09:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Sorry for not reading the 874563489678345 posts that appeard here, so if it was suggested before, ignore my post.

You first error log and you image both suggest some hardware problem. Looking at the log I'd say it might be faulty RAM (or too much OC), looking at your picture I'd say it's bad VRAM.

Unfortunately there's no way to check VRAM for error, the programs that exist do actually nothing and detect nothing, but there is a nice utility to check your RAM, so use it and run a test. And if you're OCing, turn it off.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/30/2014 09:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Eydee Sorry for not reading the 874563489678345 posts that appeard here, so if it was suggested before, ignore my post.

 

You first error log and you image both suggest some hardware problem. Looking at the log I'd say it might be faulty RAM (or too much OC), looking at your picture I'd say it's bad VRAM.

 

Unfortunately there's no way to check VRAM for error, the programs that exist do actually nothing and detect nothing, but there is a nice utility to check your RAM, so use it and run a test. And if you're OCing, turn it off.

 

 

If he has the same pixelated screens, like the one posted before, in other games as well, then yes, it must be a vram or system ram hardware issue.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/30/2014 02:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
caste1200
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 07/19/2009

thanks guys, I also have thief, i'll run some tests on the game aswell, playing tom raider doesn't give anyproblem, i'll try runing mantle on thief and dx11 and alt-tabing and see what happens..

 

and now I remember that while installing the drivers, at the end of the installation a warning appeard on the CCCinstaller, I checked the logs and everything said installed correctly, the error section was empty, and I could not find anything strange on the log... maybe it has to do with that..I will also try 13.12 but the 14.4 is supposed to be the first one compatible with the 295x.. all this errors are happening with the stock clocks, no OC either on the CPU RAM or GPU..ive been trying to find the problem for a while now..thats why I came to the forum cuz I dont get any results after trying a lot of stuffs!



-------------------------

Windows 7 Ultimate, Samsung SSD 840 PRO, AMD FX-8350 + Corsair H100i, Asus Crosshair Formula V, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1866 mhz, AMD R9 295X, Corsair AX1200i PSU.

 06/30/2014 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Fact:

 

BF4 is a piece of crap.

Not the game (though debatable).

The Software.

As a pc user, i despise crappy software and the company policy it brings along.

 

Fact:

 

There are lot's of great games/ software that respect me and my system.

 

OPINION:

 

Why downgrade my experience ? Why bother ?

 

Tomb Raider.

PC version.

Respect.

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

Statistics
84733 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.