Topic Title: Computer freeze on videos
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/29/2014 02:07 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/29/2014 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scum
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/29/2014

 I have a ongoing probem with complete computer freeze on any video and on Windows experience index when it gets to Tuning Windows media decoding. I have done the clean uninstalls of directx and amd radeon drivers. I have had this problem for quite a while. The system used to work with the hardware installed and I dont know what changed at time of problem start. Please help its getting old.

perating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.140303-2144)
           Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Acer
       System Model: Aspire X1420G
               BIOS: Default System BIOS
          Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 645 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.1GHz
             Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8192MB RAM
          Page File: 2279MB used, 14101MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
   User DPI Setting: 120 DPI (125 percent)
 System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
     DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode
Display AMD Radeon HD 5570

 06/29/2014 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7068
Joined: 11/13/2009

First, run Windows Update...pay attention to the 'recommended' and 'optional' updates. Install the relevent updates then see if you still have the issue.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/29/2014 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scum
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/29/2014

Thanks for the quik response but that has been done soryy didnt mention

 06/29/2014 02:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

By "video" you mean online video player, like flash player or you mean movies played through a desktop application ?

 

Update flash player if needed (manually uninstall and install).

Update your video/ audio codecs.

Install k-lite mega codec pack, and don't use mpc if you don't want to.

 

If you require further assistance, let me know.

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

 06/29/2014 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scum
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/29/2014

Thanks for the idea backfire but it didnt work. The videos are any video on desktop or online.

 06/29/2014 08:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Have you tried reinstalling the OS? It's a more civil way of trying to solve it than using some tricky method to "uninstall and reinstall directx".



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/30/2014 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

Have you tried to use only software rendering (CPU) for playing videos ?

Is it the same without hardware acceleration ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

 06/30/2014 09:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

Can you try windows media player as well ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

 07/04/2014 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scum
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/29/2014

I uninstalled windows media player and reinstalled and now I can play videos on computer but in IE and Mozilla it still freezes.

 07/04/2014 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7068
Joined: 11/13/2009

There is a option in all browsers to disable hardware acceleration...in IE go to tools >internet options > advanced..uncheck hardware acceleration. Mozilla has the sam esetting in the General options.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/04/2014 05:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

I once uninstalled Internet Explorer.

Then some KB****** windows update files.

It went bad.

 

My point is, never touch anything microsoft-wise if you are unsure.

It bites back.

If registry is seriously messed up, formatting windows is the only viable option left, as Eydee already suggested.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

 07/04/2014 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7068
Joined: 11/13/2009

I didn't know you could uninstall WMP....



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
84294 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.