Topic Title: Catalyst 14.6 RC2 FM14 artifacts
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/04/2014 03:16 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/04/2014 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chuan0932
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/04/2014

Football Manager 2014 gives me weird artifacts in menu. 14.4 does not have this problem.



Edited: 07/05/2014 at 05:30 AM by chuan0932
 07/04/2014 03:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4860
Joined: 12/27/2008

Post a screenshot and all the info that is asked in the sticky thread called "read before posting", please.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/04/2014 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 94
Joined: 02/07/2008

I had the same problem. I reverted to 14.4 because 14.6 gives me problems in another game too. You can "fix" the problem by going into Preferences->More Interface Options->RenderMode, and set it to software. GPU Assisted has problems with 14.6, and not in 14.4.

 

If you want, you can fill out bug report on the driver so that AMD knows about it.

http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B25

 

I filled one out, but the more people that do it, perhaps the more attention that this driver bug will get by amd.

 07/04/2014 06:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

I am curious as to what gpu you are using.

My hd6990 does not seem to suffer from this.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/04/2014 10:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Buffed

Posts: 94
Joined: 02/07/2008

xfx 290x non-reference

 07/05/2014 05:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chuan0932
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/04/2014

My graphics card HIS R9 280X iPower IceQ X² Turbo

 07/05/2014 06:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

A driver bug for GCN cards ?

Can someone, besides me, with a HD 5000 or HD 6000 series confirm or deny this issue ?

 

chuan0932:

Can you test other games, ideally dx9, and see if you get any artifacts ?

State of decay is already confirmed to have the exact issue with, presumably, Graphic Core Next GPUs.

Check your gpu temps in-game as well, just to be sure, regardless if another driver does not show this.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

Statistics
84661 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.