Topic Title: Updated Drivers, cannot use 2560x1440 any more.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/08/2014 05:28 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/08/2014 05:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RedTapWes
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/08/2014


Graphics Card
    2x Sapphire AMD 6950's in crossfire.

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
    Currently using 9.12.0.0
    Have tried 12.7, 13.2, 13.5, 13.10, 14.4 (pretty much everything)

Operating System
    Windows 7 Pro, newest service pack.

Issue Details
    I have two montors, one ASUS PB278Q and one Samsung.  The Asus will run at 2560x1440 and the samsung will run at 1920x1080 currently.  The issue is when ever I update my drivers, I no longer can use both resolutions.  It does not matter what driver I try, the higher resolution on the ASUS disapears. I have tried updated the ASUS driver, switching from display port to HDMI and back, nothing.  I find this funny, as it works on older drivers, but not on the newer drivers.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
    Gigabyte P67a-UD4-BR

Power Supply
    Thermaltake TR2 RX 750

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
    ASUS PB278Q, standard HDMI
    Samsung 2333SW DVI

Applications and Games
    Windows, and any game I play, as the resolution will not show up.

CPU Details
    Intel i7-2600K, not overclocked.

Motherboard BIOS Version
    Award Modulat BIOS v7.00PG

System Memory Type & Amount
    16GB Ram, Corsair Vengence

Additional Hardware
    1 SSD (boot and games) plus 1 500GB storage drive.  Standard DVD/RW

Additional Details
    This only happens when I update my drivers.  This has become an issue as I can no longer update my drivers to play games at the fullest resolution.  I have no idea why a new update would cause my resolutiuon to disapear and not be able to be accessed.

 07/08/2014 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You forgot to specify what happens when you use that one monitor only.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64



Edited: 07/08/2014 at 04:09 PM by Eydee
 07/08/2014 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RedTapWes
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/08/2014

I still cannot go above 1920x1080, even if I do the driver update with one plugged in.

 07/08/2014 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ray@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 160
Joined: 07/30/2012

Not sure how you were getting 2560x1440 earlier, but the specs page clearly states that HDMI resolution is limited to 1920x1080.

http://www.amd.com/en-us/products/graphics/desktop/6000/6950



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care


The information presented here is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 07/08/2014 03:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RedTapWes
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/08/2014

Originally posted by: Ray@AMD Not sure how you were getting 2560x1440 earlier, but the specs page clearly states that HDMI resolution is limited to 1920x1080.

 

http://www.amd.com/en-us/products/graphics/desktop/6000/6950

 

 

That makes no sense.  How does an old driver allow me to use the higher resolution, but when I update it does not?  I would say this would happen to be a software limit, not a hardware issue.

Statistics
87607 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.