Topic Title: catalyst 14.6
Topic Summary: issues with cpu overdrive
Created On: 07/08/2014 07:03 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/08/2014 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bigguyhawaii
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 03/10/2010

i was told in this forum that the cpu overdrive feature wasn't avaiable anymore but i've been getting a weird issue. when i check catalyst i found the option to select cpu overdrive and run the auto tune button.  i ran it and after it said to reboot.  after rebooting i no longer am able to see the cpu overdrive option.

i played with my gpu overdrive and the screen when gray, after rebooting i was able to see the cpu over drive option again.  ran the auto tune, but again after rebooting it disappeared.

i run ddu when installing new drivers so i'm confused.  is this a glitch or do i have a stuck option in my registry?



-------------------------

fx-8350, gigabyte 990 mobo, 2 7850 ice 2 g, ripjaw x 2133, psu corsair 850w, samsung 250 ssd x 2. Windows 8.1 64 bit. 

 07/08/2014 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

No proper system specs as usual... What OS do you have? The overdrive driver has a bug under 8, it makes 2 registry enries using 2 different versions. Probably a typo somewhere in the code. After deleting one of the entries (no mattter which one) it will probably work.

If it's not 8, I have no idea.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/08/2014 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bigguyhawaii
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 03/10/2010

Sorry win 8.1. I'll try when I get home.  Thanks.  Do I have to do this with every driver update?



-------------------------

fx-8350, gigabyte 990 mobo, 2 7850 ice 2 g, ripjaw x 2133, psu corsair 850w, samsung 250 ssd x 2. Windows 8.1 64 bit. 

 07/09/2014 12:10 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12217
Joined: 04/17/2008

Don't use Windows based software to overclock, use BIOS to set the values.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/09/2014 03:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bigguyhawaii
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 03/10/2010

Originally posted by: Eydee No proper system specs as usual... What OS do you have? The overdrive driver has a bug under 8, it makes 2 registry enries using 2 different versions. Probably a typo somewhere in the code. After deleting one of the entries (no mattter which one) it will probably work.

 

If it's not 8, I have no idea.

 

 

sorry but registry entry am i look for?



-------------------------

fx-8350, gigabyte 990 mobo, 2 7850 ice 2 g, ripjaw x 2133, psu corsair 850w, samsung 250 ssd x 2. Windows 8.1 64 bit. 

Statistics
84198 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.