Topic Title: New GPU is not recognized!
Topic Summary: Standard vga graphics drivers keeps appearing!
Created On: 07/23/2014 04:27 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/23/2014 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aurghmeister
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/23/2014

So I bought the Sapphire Radeon R9 270x and when I started my PC up, windows searched for drivers, failed to find them and now it's a "Standard VGA graphics adapter"

Featuring error code 10, it won't use any drivers I install. 
I did a LOT of googling and decided to reinstall windows. After that the same problem occured. 

No matter what drivers I installed and how many times I restart my PC, it simply does not recognize the GPU.

I ran GPU-Z and it did not see the name, but it did see the manufacturer and so on which is weird.

Please help me, this is quite irritating.

I took the new gpu off and slapped my old one back in, the same thing happened!!! 

 

I can barely do anything with my PC now! I tried both sapphire's and AMD's drivers but somehow they refuse to work with the GPUs now! 

Specs: 
AMD FX-6300

16 GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX

Sapphire Radeon R9 270x

Coolermaster 750w psu

Asrock 970 extreme4 motherboard

 

Standard VGA graphics adapter is there! and it refuses to go away

 07/23/2014 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aurghmeister
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/23/2014

Anyone?

 07/23/2014 09:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MEGAEX
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 08/07/2013

what have you tryed besides drivers? edit i see that same thing hapen with nother card..is there dust in the slot ?

 07/23/2014 09:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1494
Joined: 07/13/2009

Make sure you do Windows Update so Vista is up to date before trying anything else.

What's the other card?

Is the motherboard BIOS up to date?

 

 07/23/2014 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

http://support.amd.com/en-us/d...#amd-catalyst-packages

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/24/2014 03:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aurghmeister
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/23/2014

The old GPU is HD 6750.

The motherboard UEFI is not the latest but still should support my GPU, but I'll try and update it.

 

 07/24/2014 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aurghmeister
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/23/2014

Updating the bios did nothing. Neither did trying to blow some extra dust off the slot.

Statistics
88852 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.