Topic Title: 30 Bit Color - Possible with Radeon HD 7850?
Topic Summary: Would like 30 bit color with Photoshop for smoother gradients
Created On: 07/31/2014 11:38 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/31/2014 11:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NoelCarboni
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 08/03/2011

Running Windows 8.1 on a healthy workstaiton.  Dell U3014 connected via DisplayPort to a Visiontek Radeon HD 7850.

Is it possible with this card to get true 30 bit color from a Photoshop CC document?  Or does the task need something like a FirePro card.

I've enabled the 30 bit color setting inside Photoshop, but quite clearly I'm getting only 24 bit gradients on the screen.  It's easy to see the steps between black and white.

There's not much hard info on this out there.

Maybe a specially modded driver is needed?

-Noel



-------------------------
 08/01/2014 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SeriousBeans
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

You will get up to 8 bit to the panel but you will indeed need a workstation card to get 10bit.



-------------------------

i7 3930K@4.4Ghz | Rampage IV Formula | 2x Vapor-X 7970Ghz | 16GB G.Skill 2133Mhz | Samsung 840 EVO 750GB | SoundBlaster Z | SilverStone SST-ST1200-G | BenQ XL2420Z | CoolerMaster Haf X

 08/01/2014 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

There are some registry hacks that supposably let you enable 10bit mode on a radeon gpu (google for it).

I don't know if they work, don't own a 10bit monitor so I can't test it. 

Also it may not work with all monitors.

You may try it at your own risk, but for a safe bet, you're going to need a FirePro / FireGL professional gpu.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 08/01/2014 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 605
Joined: 10/30/2009

no panels out there capable of displaying true 30 bit colour



-------------------------



GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SATA3 WD Blue / 1x SSHD ST1000DX001 / 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64

 08/01/2014 08:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12449
Joined: 04/17/2008

Starting with Catalyst 14.6 beta color depth is selectable (6, 8, and 10bpp) in VECC for DisplayPort monitors.



-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/01/2014 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NoelCarboni
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 08/03/2011

Thank you, black_zion.  I'm very happy to see that, and it confirms what I've heard only hints of up to now.  I'm looking forward to the new driver release.

-Noel



-------------------------
 08/01/2014 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12449
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's been out since June, download the 14.7 beta.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/02/2014 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NoelCarboni
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 08/03/2011

Thanks for the suggestion but I prefer to wait for the release.

My fallback is to use 24 bit color.  Livable for now.

 

-Noel



-------------------------
 08/27/2014 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NoelCarboni
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 08/03/2011

I cannot justify downloading and installing the beta software as I need my workstation to be stable, but I'm dying to know if this actually works.

Has anyone here actually enabled the 10 bpc setting with Windows 8.1? 

How about Photoshop CC?

-Noel



-------------------------
 08/27/2014 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12449
Joined: 04/17/2008

The only thing different between beta and WHQL is $250.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/27/2014 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NoelCarboni
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 08/03/2011

Um, no.

It's not considered released by AMD yet.  That's the release I care about.  I couldn't care less about WHQL.

Note the version considered released near the top of this page:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows+7+-+64

-Noel



-------------------------
Statistics
85287 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.