Topic Title: AMD Catalyst Control with half the options gone!
Topic Summary: I don't have access to most of the options in AMD Catalyst Control Center.
Created On: 08/19/2014 07:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/19/2014 07:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WHYMEPLZHELP
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/19/2014

After I placed a new AMD GPU card & installed the latest drivers for it from the offical site for it, it automatically installed AMD Catalyst Control Center (version 2013.0830.1944.33589) with it.
After the reboot, I got huge black border all around my screen.

I read I need to open the AMD Catalyst Control Center & select the display option to fix the overscan, but when I open AMD Catalyst, it has absolute no options for that.

Here is a picture of what my AMD Catalyst looks like

http://i5.minus.com/iE0MsWQGfTDQj.png

 

What can I do?
Shoudl I uninstall it & redownload it from somewhere else? Wouldn't that disable my Graphics card as well?

 

 08/20/2014 05:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FragilViper
Peon

Posts: 22
Joined: 05/19/2014

did you remove previous catalist drivers before install new card?

in other case (maybe) new card is defective and driver did not recognize it

 08/20/2014 07:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1406
Joined: 07/13/2009

The drivers are clearly not installed correctly.

Start by supplying the information requested in the sticky post.  With absolutely no information whatsoever about your hardware, even guessing what's wrong is more than a bit difficult.

 

 08/20/2014 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I can see a "wifi radio" option there. So it's a laptop. You need to use drivers provided by the laptop manufacturer, not from amd.com.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/20/2014 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WHYMEPLZHELP
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/19/2014

Originally posted by: FragilViper did you remove previous catalist drivers before install new card?

 

in other case (maybe) new card is defective and driver did not recognize it

 

 

Actually I did not. I will try uninstalling & re-installing then.

 

On on a Desktop 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium (6.1 build 7600)

The drivers I updated for were for a AMD Radeon HD 7900 series, I updated directly from the manufacturers website.

 

After I uninstall, where do I download the new version?

The same driver/Catalyst package from the AMD Raddeon link? Won't I have to uninstall the drivers for the GPU as well?



Edited: 08/20/2014 at 02:37 PM by WHYMEPLZHELP
 08/20/2014 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WHYMEPLZHELP
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/19/2014

I updated the Drivers to my mobo here:

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4642#dl

That installed a Catalyst manager.

I then installed the incorrect drivers for my GPU, I later found the correct address & installed the right one.

This is where I downloaded the correct drivers

http://us.msi.com/support/vga/R7970_TF_3GD5OC_BE.html#down-driver

This also installed another Catalyst Manager.

 

I thought to about just unintsalling the entire Catalyst Manager from the uninstall programs menu, but thought wisely against that as that might remove the drivers from my Mobo/GPU/Ethernet as well.

 

Should I just select specific components to uninstall?

 

 08/25/2014 05:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FragilViper
Peon

Posts: 22
Joined: 05/19/2014

it is very recomended to uninstall previous drivers and reboot before installing new one

at first - install native drivers for your graphic card (MSI?), if card working good with it your can try to install newest stable AMD Catalist driver (14.04)

Statistics
85463 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.