Topic Title: My transformer was hit by lightning...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/13/2012 05:44 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/13/2012 05:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12364
Joined: 04/17/2008

If you've never experienced it, you don't want to. Lightning hit my light pole on which was our transformer, and it blew it apart, with quite a really loud bang...Imagine a 50 cal rifle shot about 10 feet away from you. Well it blew it apart, which took FIVE HOURS to replace because the idiotic power company dispatcher didn't tell anyone to come fix it (despite the dispatcher telling us they did, but it was my cousin who came out to replace it, he confirmed that they weren't even told about us until about a half hour before) until we had called 6 times. Along with it fused the phone line surge protector on one of my UPSs (I had my phone line running through two), but thankfully, knock on wood, nothing else was damaged.

Nothing was on at the time, but I still should have unplugged my UPSs, my TV can run off its UPSs power for about 50 minutes, and phone line until the storm had passed. All I can say is I'm lucky as heck I didn't lose everything...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/14/2012 08:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

R.I.P. Optimus Prime.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/14/2012 08:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7214
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Eydee R.I.P. Optimus Prime.

LOL



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
84839 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.