Topic Title: Unable to update signature
Topic Summary: new signature of 225 characters exceeding 255 max???
Created On: 08/18/2012 08:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/18/2012 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aycolumbia
Nerfed

Posts: 69
Joined: 01/13/2009

Can an admin please help me with this?  I'm trying to update my signature and the system keeps coming back with an "exceeded maximum" error.  The signature shows that the maximum is 255 characters and my text editor shows I'm using 225.  There are actually 221 characters as my text editor counts the CR and LF as characters too.  It would be helpful to have a "countdown" counter that starts at 255 and decreased as you type or paste text rather than having to submit the form and then getting an error.

Here's my new signature that I'm trying to enter:

ASUS P5-QLE|Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400|4GB DDR3|Ultra LSP550 550-Watt PSU|Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 OC 1GB DDR5|Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
...HDMI output --> Mitsubishi WD-65838 HDMI input 3
...DVI->HDMI --> Sony STR-DA5500ES AVR



-------------------------

ASUS P5-QLE | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 | 4GB DDR2 | Ultra LSP550 550-Watt PSU | Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 OC 1GB DDR5 | Windows 8 Pro 64 bit
...HDMI output --> Mitsubishi WD-65838 HDMI input 3
...DVI->HDMI --> Sony STR-DA5500ES AVR

 08/18/2012 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12244
Joined: 04/17/2008

This forum counts all characters typed in the box, so drop the unnecessary HTML codes.



-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64

Edited: 08/19/2012 at 05:53 PM by AMD Support and Game Moderator
 08/21/2012 10:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aycolumbia
Nerfed

Posts: 69
Joined: 01/13/2009

OMG, you've got to be kidding.  That makes it so much harder to read.

Hey admins, any chance you guys can update the signature to NOT count the HTML codes please?  If you can allow some basic codes, i.e., bold, italics, underscore, color and font size, that would be great.  Would be nice to format the info in the signature so it's easier to read.



-------------------------

ASUS P5-QLE | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 | 4GB DDR2 | Ultra LSP550 550-Watt PSU | Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 OC 1GB DDR5 | Windows 8 Pro 64 bit
...HDMI output --> Mitsubishi WD-65838 HDMI input 3
...DVI->HDMI --> Sony STR-DA5500ES AVR

 08/22/2012 12:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12244
Joined: 04/17/2008

Actually it's perfectly readable. Don't worry, that PSU will blow up soon enough taking everything with it.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84277 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.