Topic Title: Cable management
Topic Summary: Do you pay attention or not?
Created On: 09/17/2012 11:50 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/17/2012 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Calgar
Nerfed

Posts: 63
Joined: 04/25/2010

When you build your PC do you pay attention to have as perfect as possible cable management or you just manage the easy cables or you just leave the cables just like that?



-------------------------

Thermaltake Level 10GT-ToughPower 1500W-Frio Extreme/Asus Sabertooth 990FX/AMD FX 8150/Asus HD 6990/Kingston Hyper X Predator KHX18C9T2K4/16X /WD VelociRaptor 250GB(Main),x2 320GB(Raid BackUp)Caviar Black,2Tb Caviar Black x2/Creative SB XFi 3D Pro/LG Blu-Ray x2/Windows 7 64bit/Samsung T27A950 x3/Samsung HT-D6750W/Logitech G19,G9x,G13.

 09/17/2012 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

Cable managed PC here. Always have done, especially at work with client builds etc. No excuse to leave a shed load of cables/wires blocking the airflow in a case .. and less of an excuse nowadays with modular PSUs and cases with cable managment holes in them. Even if cables can't be hidden or routed out of the way, only takes an extra 2 minutes to cable tie them to lessen obstructions.



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/17/2012 01:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12651
Joined: 04/17/2008

I used to not bother with cable management, but when I moved to this supertower Antec 1200 (from a ThermalTake Armor, the original bigger heavier one) I took time to run the cables through the holes behind the motherboard tray. Having the PSU on the bottom instead of the top is better for cable management as well.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/17/2012 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

For me a build is not complete until cable management has been done.  All my builds have varying levels of cable management but I just can't leave a rats nest in a case....whether it has a side window or not. 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 09/17/2012 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Same here...  I can't leave the little buggers alone even if they're not in the way of airflow, and nobody is going to see them.

I have yet to do my own sleeving though... I usually take the route of just hiding the cables so they aren't visible anyway.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 09/18/2012 04:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
orn
Nerfed

Posts: 64
Joined: 10/11/2007

I use black strings to tidy up them loose wires
 09/18/2012 05:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Calgar
Nerfed

Posts: 63
Joined: 04/25/2010

Same here. For some reason I can't leave the cables "flying" around the case. Especialy I get annoied when a cable touches a fan, it's super annoing .



-------------------------

Thermaltake Level 10GT-ToughPower 1500W-Frio Extreme/Asus Sabertooth 990FX/AMD FX 8150/Asus HD 6990/Kingston Hyper X Predator KHX18C9T2K4/16X /WD VelociRaptor 250GB(Main),x2 320GB(Raid BackUp)Caviar Black,2Tb Caviar Black x2/Creative SB XFi 3D Pro/LG Blu-Ray x2/Windows 7 64bit/Samsung T27A950 x3/Samsung HT-D6750W/Logitech G19,G9x,G13.

 09/18/2012 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Forum Moderator

Posts: 15
Joined: 11/26/2007

I did the best I could with other cases using velcro ties and trying to route the best I could. With this latest case though everything is tucked out of the way behind the motherboard tray. It's very neat and tidy in front now with hardly any wire showing.

-------------------------
1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106 AMD forums

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 09/18/2012 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

I try the best I can with my actual case, which by the way, it's really nule about cable management... It didn't have those hole tray to route the cables..

In fact, I had to do a hole in the iron mobo tray in order to be able to pass the cables into the back.. Of course, my PSU isn't fully modular, but I did the best I could..

But, it's always nice to have the inside of the case very good looking..

 

Best regards..



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / CF-X 7970 + 7950 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 09/19/2012 01:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Many moons ago I built a system with a Thermaltake Armor Jr.  You know the case with the little flappy things on the front. lol.

Still using the case.  No real "cable management" built into the case, but I definitely always do what I can to do my own cable management and keep things tidy, and air flowing well.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 09/19/2012 01:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 548
Joined: 01/15/2011

I always try to keep the case tidy as possible - even with some of the garbage Acer / DELL PCs that I've worked with.

I prefer cases with a side window so...

(Now that I think about it, I feel like an idiot for not going for a semi-modular / fully-modular PSU when I built my sig. system)



-------------------------

FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 + Dual-X HD 7970 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 09/21/2012 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ViPeR
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 08/29/2012

Cable management for sure.



-------------------------
 09/21/2012 11:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 282
Joined: 09/16/2012

I have to hide them the best i can, it just bugs me to have wire and cable all over the place even at the back of the pc were every thing plugs in has to be tidy.

 



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 09/22/2012 02:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Recompile The World

Posts: 2612
Joined: 11/13/2008

I strive for the best possible cable management!

 

 



-------------------------

Lad


I play with sand.



Edited: 09/22/2012 at 03:04 AM by L4d
 09/29/2012 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/27/2012

as long as there is no air flow problems don't care. I hide some things but not a priority. I even bought small black zip ties never used them. behind my computer is a rats nest of cables and TV stand as well

-------------------------

AMD FX8350/CORSAIR H50
ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3
G.SKILL TRIDENT X 9-11-11-31 (2 X 8GB)
2-XFX 5870/5850
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
OCZ vertex4 128gb windows 7 64

Statistics
86391 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.