Topic Title: Phenom II 1090T freezing in Prime95
Topic Summary: Can't get my OC stable
Created On: 09/20/2012 08:17 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/20/2012 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 548
Joined: 01/15/2011

Well, Well...

So I updated my BIOS to v2002 for my Crosshair IV a few weeks ago, and it thought it would be a great chance to mess with some overclocking again. The last time I updated the BIOS was when I first got the board (v1005).

Anyways, I decided to do some overclocking with my chip by only upping the multiplier, and I can't get it to run stable.

The problem is, the whole computer would lock-up / freeze after ~3 minutes into Prime95 Blend Test. I don't get any BSOD's and Prime95 doesn't stop itself - the system just freezes and only a reboot works. I can..surf the web, go onto the forums here, watch a 30 minute YouTube video and it would be okay.

I'll follow prodecures as always...

Phenom II X6 1090T attempt at 4GHz (200MHz default bus X 20)

ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX Mobo with BIOS 2002

8GB (4GB X 2) GSkill RipJaws DDR3 1600MHz RAM at default (I've tried both 1333MHz and 1600MHz)

Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler with push-pull fan config

Single XFX 5850 1GB GDDR5 (my 2nd card was getting in the way of the mobo buttons)

Corsair TX 850 PSU

120GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD (I'm using JUST the SSD; fresh install of W7 Ult x64 with nothing on it but P95 and monitoring tools like CPU-Z, HWMonitor)

Using the latestest chipset / LAN / USB drivers

CCC version 12.8

I've tried these settings in BIOS:

20 mult

200MHz Bus

DRAM 1600MHz or 1333MHz

CPU/NB 2800MHz or 3000MHz

HT 2000MHz or 2200MHz

CPU Voltage from 1.38v to 1.48v

CPU/NB from 1.25v to 1.30v

HT from 1.25v to 1.2875v

NB: from 1.20v to 1.2875v

SB from 1.20v to 1.2875v

VDDR from 1.245v to 1.272v

I left CPU VDDA at the stock 2.5v

Left NB 1.8 at...1.8v

Had CPU LLC, NB LLC, VDDR (?) LLC on Auto, 50% and 100%

Left PCIE frequency and voltage and such on auto (100MHz, Auto, etc)

When Prime95 is running the Vcore will jump up to 1.52v (as seen on CPU-Z, HWMonitor and AIDA64).

The highest I've seen the CPU temp go up to is ~54*C while running Prime95.

NB, ~42*C

SB ~36*C

Keep in mind, I didn't jump straight to 4.0GHz; I had it at 3.6GHz and 3.8GHz (of course at lower voltages) and it had no trouble running Prime95 and 3DMark11.

I'm unsure to push the NB, SB, HT, CPU/NB higher...close to 1.3v seems a bit high. Also, ~1.52v on the Vcore for 4GHz??

When I reached 4GHz by only adjusting the Bus (sig), it used a bit lower voltages...(CPU/NB 1.28V, HT 1.28v, NB 1.237v, SB 1.23v, VDDR 1.25v, Vcore ~1.45v)

Any help?



-------------------------

FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 + Dual-X HD 7970 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64



Edited: 09/20/2012 at 09:49 PM by -rascal-
 09/20/2012 09:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

Increase your CPU VDDA to 2.75v and under CPU --> ECC change the cache ECC options to 2.56µs. If that doesn't work, you might just have to settle for 3.8ghz.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/20/2012 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 548
Joined: 01/15/2011

Originally posted by: black_zion Increase your CPU VDDA to 2.75v and under CPU --> ECC change the cache ECC options to 2.56µs. If that doesn't work, you might just have to settle for 3.8ghz.

CPU VDDA to 2.75v? I was told before to try to keep it at 2.6v or close to the stock 2.5v as possible.

"

CPU VDDA is actually PLL, mine was running 2.70v [on my GA-890GPA-UD3H] when I blew caps and basically killed the CPU with p95, so keep that under 2.6v no matter what.

 

"

Do you think it could be lack of voltage? HT or CPU-NB frequency related?

But I guess the saying is true; to get the highest overclock, you need to mess with both the Bus speed AND the multiplier.



-------------------------

FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 + Dual-X HD 7970 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 09/22/2012 02:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Recompile The World

Posts: 2612
Joined: 11/13/2008

If i have recalled this correctly, when my uncore/C.P.U.-N.B. voltage was too low, my P.C. would freeze, not B.S.o.D., so I would try another bump of its voltage.



-------------------------

Lad


I play with sand.

 09/22/2012 03:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Damric
Cookie Monster

Posts: 456
Joined: 05/18/2008

Don't feel bad, my old 1090T takes over 1.6 volts vcore for 4GHz and 1.35V for 3GHz CPU-NB. Still running strong in a 24/7 air cooled folding rig for 2 years now.

-------------------------
If your aunt had balls, she'd be your uncle.
 09/22/2012 10:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

I've been running my CPU VDDA at 2.75v for ages with no issues. Don't forget the Crosshair IV is made for this sort of thing, and unless the voltages turn to red it is quite fine.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/23/2012 02:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 548
Joined: 01/15/2011

Okay thanks for your guys' input. I'll give things a try when I get some free time and report back.



-------------------------

FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 + Dual-X HD 7970 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 09/23/2012 08:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

I wish I could get my 965 stable at 4ghz at anything lower than 1.42v, instead I run it at 3.8ghz at 1.39v (ish). One of these days I'll be one of the lucky people who get one of the easy, highly overclockable chips...

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
88870 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.