Topic Title: Does Trinity A10 Support GDDR 5 in crossfire?
Topic Summary: Questions regard new rig I'm putting together.
Created On: 10/14/2012 11:44 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/14/2012 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kyukuru
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/14/2012

Yeah,

So I'm working on a new rig with the A10-5800K at its heart and I'm planning on running dual graphics with a Radeon HD 6670. I heard that if you're planning on running dual graphics there is no reason to spend more money on the GDDR 5 version as dual graphics only supports DDR3, is this true? Also is there any real performance difference in getting the 2gb version of the card over the 1gb? 

 10/14/2012 07:15 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12916
Joined: 04/17/2008

GDDR =/= DDR, they are separate and not equal. But considering the fairly lackadaisical power of the 6670 and taking away the drawbacks of dual graphics, you wouldn't notice a different between a GDDR5 and GDDR3 card, and sure as hell won't notice the difference between 1GB and 2GB.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/15/2012 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 720
Joined: 08/28/2012

More memory on a graphics card allows you to run at higher game video quality and/or higher resolutions.  i.e. if you choose to run multiple monitors while gaming and want higher quality game graphic settings such as textures and AA you need more graphic card memory to store that data on.....being that you are wanting to pair an the APU's GPU with a discrete card, it won't matter.  You will most likely experience better performance just using the discrete graphics card than with both combined.

Cheers!



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

Statistics
87660 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.