Topic Title: overclocking amd fx-4100
Topic Summary: amd cool-n-quiet
Created On: 10/18/2012 05:41 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/18/2012 05:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ghlnknjc
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/18/2012

I have a Acer AM3450-UR30P. I can overclock my AMD FX-4100 with AMD overdrive to 4500 Mhz and all is stable. My question is will AMD cool-n-quiet still throttle my processor down to a lower Mhz when I don't use it at the full 4500 Mhz? I also have upped my ram to 12 gb. I use my computer for video and picture editing and also for copping movies to my hard drive.

 10/18/2012 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

The answer is yes if your power option in the OS' control panel is not set to High Performance.  You can confirm by running CPU-Z.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 10/19/2012 05:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ghlnknjc
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/18/2012

Thank you very much, that's what I was looking for, again thanks.

Statistics
84305 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.