Topic Title: New to video card upgrades - Do I need to tune it? (HD 7770)
Topic Summary: help tuning
Created On: 11/15/2012 12:09 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/15/2012 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrankO
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/15/2012

I purchased an ASUS HD 7770 the other day, installed it, and it's running fine.   However I don't know if there's anything I am supposed to do to get it running games optimally?  The reason I'm wondering is because the GPU Clock and Memory Clock values are lower than on the HD5500 card I pulled out.

Does the card automatically tune itself to the limits of the PC it's plugged into?   It is an older machine (Dell Precision workstation with 2 Xeon CPUs, 750w PS, 2Gb DDR3...)

I only play World of Tanks, and not sure how to adjust that AMD Overdrive without damaging the card.

Comments appreciated,

Frank

GPU: 400Mhz    Memory: 667Mhz   Temp: 31     Activity: 0%    Fan:  10%



Edited: 11/15/2012 at 12:19 PM by FrankO
 11/15/2012 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 258
Joined: 09/16/2012

you card will go into a lower power state when its not being worked but as soon as you start putting a load on the gpu it will jump back up to 1020Mhz.

You can test this by running MSI afterburnner in the background wile playing your game.

 

If the card is working good for you at stock clock speed and your not to sure on OC'ing than I would't worry about AMD overdrive and just go into 3D application settings to get it to run optimally



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 11/15/2012 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrankO
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/15/2012

Very helpful.  I'll leave its settings as-is, but will check out that MSI afterburner too.

Thanks!

 11/16/2012 09:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Recompile The World

Posts: 2612
Joined: 11/13/2008

Catalyst Application Profiles could be downloaded from A.M.D.

I use D3DOverrider too.



-------------------------

Lad


I play with sand.

Statistics
84097 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.