Topic Title: What's my CPU?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/29/2012 03:24 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/29/2012 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abo
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/29/2012

Local PC shop has habit to sell under clocked PCs.

It put faster CPUs, but the main boards are left on default settings.

After I touch the jumpers and do faster FSB frequency, the PCs work perfectly.

I can read and understand various main boards’ manuals perfectly.

But today one CPU got broken because unsuccessful over clocking procedure.

Now, in my hands I have another board, what offer different types of over clocking actions, like CPU voltage, FSB frequency, CPU frequency multiplier…

 

Again it’s some Chinese cheep board with instructions on it how to use the jumpers. And again I have potential to damage some another AMD CPU.

 

I have the sense that the CPU is under clocked, how I can understand the best CPU’s settings in the MB, without me to over clock it? What program I have to run, what to show me not the current CPU speed, but my target CPU speed? I’ll like to have not under clocked CPU and to be not so over clocked so to burn out and this CPU.

 

Once again. You say me, I run the program, it say me the target CPU settings. I already know how to apply them in the main board. I don’t know the target speed.

 01/06/2013 03:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
computergeekz360
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/01/2012

HUH?

 01/06/2013 06:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 319
Joined: 10/14/2011

I'm not sure what you're asking either. But if you need information on your CPU then try this.

http://www.cpuid.com/

I hope this helps.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 

 01/08/2013 07:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 278
Joined: 09/16/2012

If you can break a cpu by overclocking than you really don't know what your doing and you should probaly leave it alone.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 01/12/2013 04:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abo
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/29/2012

Fishman win. Exactly this was my needs.

I already have installed this program from long time before, but it have label 'Core Speed'. Now, I'll do simple test:

1. I hibernate my PC

2. I enter in BIOS after power on

3. I underclock my CPU

Now, this entry mark my CPU to be 1.(6) GHz.

Thank you for your initiative.

 01/12/2013 05:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abo
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/29/2012

But now, there is shown my 'core speed' to be 1.62GHz.

Before it was 1.6666666666666 when FSB is 133

Now it's 1.61999999999999999 when FSB is 130

This program shows my current core speed, not the target.

Thank you for your support in any way.

I notice that on the CPUs there are printed serial numbers, is that possible I to search in some database this serial numbers and to see the specifications of my CPU. I can like and manual work using magnifying glass, if there is no such software what I like.

 01/14/2013 02:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

You could try Speccy...it's free. Once it has analysed everything...click on the CPU and get detailed info.

http://www.piriform.com/speccy



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
85324 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.