Topic Title: Building me a HTPC
Topic Summary: I dub thee Cooter
Created On: 01/18/2013 12:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2013 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

In accordance with my other rigs it must have a redneck nickname, so I'm going to call it Cooter (Cooter....Dukes of Hazzard)!  My other rigs are named, JimBob, JoeBob, J-Bob Jr. and Mrs. BobbyJoe.....I live in TN so it is appropriate I think....and given my real name, which I am not going to state here......um, yeah.....LOL  Anyway, I'm bad at build threads, so I don't know if I want to officially call this a build thread but more of an.....this is a thread about this rig...what's going in it (no mods this time, sorry).....what it will look like....and how it performs.

I finished ordering everything for it last night so most everything is en route to the house now, but this is what I have picked out for it.

AMD A6-3650 APU w/ AMD Radeon 65XX HD GFX Quad Core Processor Socket FM1 2.6GHZ 4MB 100W Retail Box [Thanks AMD!!!]

Cooler Master GeminII M4 - CPU Cooler with 4 Direct Contact Heat Pipes (RR-GMM4-16PK-R2)

Noctua NF-R8 80mm Fan 3-Pack

LG Super Multi Blu-ray Disc and HD DVD-ROM Drive (GGC-H20L)

Logitech Mini Controller for Logitech Revue and Google TV

Silverstone Tek SG02B-F-USB3.0

ASUS F1A75-M PRO R2.0 FM1 AMD A75 (Hudson D3) HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Samsung 120GB 840 Series 2.5" Solid State Drive with 3.5" Installation Kit

Western Digital Red 3TB SATA3 64MB Cache 3.5in Internal Hard Disk Drive HDD

PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III 400W ATX Modular Power Supply 80PLUS Bronze 120MM Fan

Samsung Electronics Extreme Low Voltage 30nm UDIMM 8 Dual Channel Kit DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM MV-3V4G3D/US

 ....more to come, so be patient.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 01/18/2013 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 576
Joined: 08/28/2012

Cool stuff dude... I've got the 830 SSD in my desktop and it's awesome.  Hopefully your HTPC build will turn out better than mine.  The build its self went ok, but things got... confused, along the way.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/18/2013 12:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 09/03/2012

I just built my brother in law a rig with the AMD A6-3650. He loves it.

I used this motherboard.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131870



-------------------------
AMD 8350FX 4.6ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//90gb+240gb Corsair Force GT ssd//WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Win8 x64
 01/18/2013 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11577
Joined: 04/17/2008

Couple of questions: Why not the Corsair H60, and why Llano instead of Trinity?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/18/2013 02:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

I didn't want to watercool this one.  I am not going to OC it much if at all, and since my wife and kids will be using it the most, they don't know how to troubleshoot a broken or leaking WC system......in this case....K.I.S.S. is the idea.  Aside from all of that I had a specific budget to work within and the GeminII M4 fit into it perfectly and will maintain the temps just fine. 

The APU that I used was really cheap....I mean, so cheap that you couldn't say no to it.....free so, the whole HTPC is built around that one component. 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 01/18/2013 02:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 576
Joined: 08/28/2012

The heatsink is probably cheaper anyway, and I doubt there's much of a difference noise-wise.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/18/2013 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11577
Joined: 04/17/2008

Good reasons

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/22/2013 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Welp.....gots an update for ya'll!!

Herp derp...LOL

My case arrived yesterday and I'm hoping that the rest of it gets here before the weekend so that I can get to the building stage and get the OS installed.

The case was a little larger than I had imagined it to be, but I was stuck on the mATX platform rather than the ITX.  There was only one motherboard available for FM1 on ITX that was worth looking at and it was ASRock.....let's just say the reviews made it look as though I might as well just burn the $ it would have cost me to buy it, so I opted to just move up to mATX instead.  ASUS made a really nice little ITX motherboard for FM1 at one point!  It was geared for HTPC's 100% but sadly, they don't make or sell them new anymore that I could find and that I could trust who I was buying it from.

If the kids give me some time I'll try and snap some pics of it tonight.    I would have done so last night but I caught a case of the "bright ideas" and decided to flash both of my GTX 590's to ASUS MARSII to circumvent NVidia's blasted voltage lock/PDL crap.  Let's just say the results were definitely worth it IMO!! 

 

 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!



Edited: 01/22/2013 at 03:14 PM by Canis-X
 01/22/2013 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 576
Joined: 08/28/2012

Yeah... ITX with AMD is difficult if you want to use an A series chip.  Not sure why, but I ran into the same thing when building Stockpile.  mATX gives you a few more expansion slots, which for an HTPC could be useful. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/29/2013 05:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

So very true!  Well, I have Cooter built physically now.  All that remains is getting XBMC setup.  Currently have added 565 movies and All of House M.D. (all 8 seasons, 177 episodes in 720P ).  Still have several kid's shows to add and I am sincerely hoping that sickbeard can help me out with that task!!!

So, this is what it looks like.  Not my absolute best work ever on the cable management, but this was not for show.....purely function. 

Oh....yes, the pics were taken with my crappy cell phone camera....and my blinds need some serious replacing...LOL 

 http://cdn.overclock.net/0/0f/0f7bf6ea_20130128_163652.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 http://cdn.overclock.net/2/2d/2d6aeaab_20130128_164600.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 http://cdn.overclock.net/7/75/75ddc162_20130128_163612.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 http://cdn.overclock.net/a/a9/a99387bd_20130128_163500.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://cdn.overclock.net/d/d4/d4c05223_20130128_163742.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!



Edited: 01/29/2013 at 05:35 PM by Canis-X
Statistics
80956 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.