Topic Title: Overclocking and Cold outside air
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/19/2013 03:02 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/19/2013 03:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Srolfe657
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/09/2013

The picture below is my current setup, I'm curious as to if anyone else pipes cold air to their PC. got my FX 8120 stock 3.1 up to 4.5 stable. CPU's reading at 43C and that's after an hour of WOW maxed out on eyefinity. Extreamly efficient system, but I'm slightly nervous about all the talk of condensation. I'm pretty sure that it only forms when cold air warms up to the dew point. Is this correct? If it is, would putting a dehumidifier inline drop the dew point, or even if there was just one in the room? Anyways let me know what you think.

 01/19/2013 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12188
Joined: 04/17/2008

Why would you do that? Have you not heard of liquid cooling?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/19/2013 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Srolfe657
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/09/2013

I've never installed one before, this cost me like 30$ to make.

 01/19/2013 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
I-Gamer
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/19/2013

You won't have problem of condensation if you have a continuous flow of air in all the parts of the case.
 01/19/2013 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12188
Joined: 04/17/2008

You've never heard of "closed loop liquid coolers?" Corsair makes a whole range, and there's the Antec Khuler and a few more. Take a look at the Corsair H100i or H110.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/20/2013 04:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 978
Joined: 11/22/2010

I love when people build improvised cooling I can remember a russian overclocker who broke down a 1960's refridgerator and built a watercooling set without any retail parts, it worked, but it sure was ugly!



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 01/20/2013 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12188
Joined: 04/17/2008

I read an article not to long ago about how this guy went to the local hardware store and for less than $500 built a LN2 producing machine for his extreme overclocking bouts. It didn't make vast quantities, but it produced far more LN2 than $500 would get you at a supplier.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/23/2013 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion Why would you do that?

If you have to ask why, then you don't understand. 

$30 to get something awesome sounds like a good deal to me...

Originally posted by: Srolfe657Extreamly efficient system, but I'm slightly nervous about all the talk of condensation. I'm pretty sure that it only forms when cold air warms up to the dew point. Is this correct? If it is, would putting a dehumidifier inline drop the dew point, or even if there was just one in the room? Anyways let me know what you think.

Yeah you could mess with dewpoints by changing the relative humidity of the air, although that may be difficult if there's a large difference in air temperature.  People who use phase change cooling have to deal with condensation also, and they usually just insulate the area around the cooler to prevent the condensation from actually going anywhere.  Having condensation form only on your heatsink won't cause any problems... you just don't want it to drip or creep onto anything else. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/23/2013 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Yep yep...When I connect my phase change up to my motherboard I have to prep it first.  The area around the CPU socket (both front and back) that will get affected by the below zero temps that the phase produces has several layers of "stuff" applied to it to prevent condensation from forming on the electronics.  I like using kneeded eraser + shop towels + neoprene, really works well.  There are some that will use stuff like vasoline or liquid electrical tape applied straight to the motherboard to protect it, but I think that is not needed and it is also a real pain to clean off when it comes time for an RMA, service or if you ever wanted to sell it.

What you really need to pay attention to in your situation would be shutting your rig down for say 20-30 minutes then remembering someithing you forgot to do then going back and turning it on again.  If there was condensation that is now dripping you could get a short.  I've seen plenty of folks do what you are doing and everything is just fine but there is always a possibility that something could go wrong......just keep that in mind, accept that risk and don't get too ticked off if Murphy stops by to visit and muck things up for you. 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

Statistics
84124 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.