Topic Title: 7870 XT won't throttle up from idle when OC'd
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/01/2013 12:07 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/01/2013 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Seanpatrick1976
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/01/2013

This issue is driving me nuts.  For some reason,  on my recently purchased 7870 xt,  It WILL NOT OC.  I've tried CCC overdrive,  Trixx,  and MSI afterburner with the same result.  As soon as I touch the Core clock or Memory clock in the SMALLEST increment,  the core clock will not throttle up from it's idle of 501MHz.  I've recreated this problem in 3Dmark,  and logged it using GPU-Z.   I was trying to discover why I was having such bad FPS in games on a fancy new card,  and realized when I reset the OC to default my fps shot up,  so I started doing some testing,  and have come to this result.  I've tried with both 13.1 and the 13.2 driver,  and other then throttling up to what I have it OC'd at for a SPLIT second,  while loading a test ( not during load ) it just sits at 501.  It has no problem running at 975 during load while all settings are default,  but as soon as I try to raise even 25MHz on ANY setting,  it won't increase from idle.  I've consulted with several people on forums, eg. Hardware Heaven,  and they've all told me the only thing I can do is contact AMD.

For a first time AMD card buyer,  this SUCKS.

 03/01/2013 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12458
Joined: 04/17/2008

And you haven't sent an email to whoever made your card to find out if it is a known issue because?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/01/2013 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mutu98
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/01/2013

That does suck indeed, maybe there's a glitch with the boost controll on it.Try disabling it if you manage to find it(I have a hd7850 so i can't tell you much about it as it doesn't have boost controll).

I saw an option in Afterburner as "force constant voltage", try to use that also(from the sound of it, maybe that is disabling turbo boost too).

If you can't unlock voltage controll on afterburner, try asus gpu tweak(as that's the only software that does that for my card)

 03/01/2013 02:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Seanpatrick1976
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/01/2013

Maybe because sapphire support site directs you first to this forum: Here's the link,  see for yourself:

http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/support/?psn=0002&lid=1

 

Thanks for the usefull info anyways smart guy.

 03/01/2013 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Seanpatrick1976
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/01/2013

Yeah I've seen an option for force constant voltage on either trixx or msi afterburner,  I'll have to try it out,  I'm just hesitant about keeping my voltage always maxed...  worse case scenario I'll do it,  but you would hope that there's a solution to this,  because that's not how the cards supposed to work.   I would have just bought a cheaper version of the 7870 ext.. But yeah I'll try it If I don't hear back from a support ticket soon

 05/20/2013 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeMike86
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/20/2013

Make sure you're not enabling AMD overdrive in the CCC and running MSI Afterburner at the same time, since they will conflict with eachother.

Since you have already used CCC, and since I've had the best luck using Afterburner personally I'd suggest following this post I found a long time ago, before you continue to send the card in for RMA.

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18431335

Sometimes just disabling the powerplay option in Afterburner can fix this issue.

Guess I can't post links here...

http://www.overclock.net/t/1373543/official-7870-tahiti-le-xt-owners-club

^^Here's one more place with tons of information on the XT and Myst, I modded my Myst and put a 120cfm pwm controlled 120mm fan to keep it below 60c all the time.

If you've ever bios flashed you could always try that, but it's quiet a bit more risky, and if you did change the bios you'd have to switch it back before RMA'ing.

First post here, hope I didn't break any rules by posting outside links, figured it would be alright to help someone.

Let me know if any of that helps!

 

...Just realized this was from 2.5months ago! My bad, good info for anyone else running into this thread with this issue though! Haha

 



-------------------------

Rig 1: i5-3570k@ 4.5ghz custom water loop, 2x4gb Samsung low-profile ram@ 1866mhz, 2x Powercolor 7950's, Samsung 830 256gb HDD and 2tb Toshiba HDD. Rig 2: i5-2500k@4.5ghz, 2x4gb G.Skill Snipers@ 1333mhz, PowerColor 7870Myst, cheapo 180gb Vertex 2 SSD and 2x500gb Caviar Blacks in raid 0. Folding Rig: AMD Athlon 635@ stock, 3x2gb random sticks at 1333mhz, EVGA 9800gtx+, MSI TwinFrozR gtx460 768mb



Edited: 05/20/2013 at 08:39 PM by MikeMike86
Statistics
85329 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.