Topic Title: AMD OverDrive 1.45v limit?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/03/2014 10:09 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/03/2014 10:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mokilok
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/03/2014

Hello everyone,

I'm using AMD OverDrive to test overclocks before applying them in BIOS settings.

 

My motherboard in a Sabertooth 990FX and my CPU is an AMD 8150 BE.

When I'm raising the voltage and overclocking it hits a wall at 1.45 voltage, at this voltage the CPU clock speed drops lower than the stock speed down to 3.3ghz per core. Is this a safety feature of some kind?

 02/04/2014 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12663
Joined: 04/17/2008

You shouldn't have to use anywhere near that voltage. You shouldn't have much trouble getting to at least 4.2ghz on stock or very close to stock voltage, and you should never overclock in software. It takes a few extra seconds, but overclock in BIOS and always boot into safe mode to help prevent data corruption until you find your stable value.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/16/2014 12:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 653
Joined: 09/08/2013

Originally posted by: Mokilok Hello everyone,

I'm using AMD OverDrive to test overclocks before applying them in BIOS settings.

 

My motherboard in a Sabertooth 990FX and my CPU is an AMD 8150 BE.

When I'm raising the voltage and overclocking it hits a wall at 1.45 voltage, at this voltage the CPU clock speed drops lower than the stock speed down to 3.3ghz per core. Is this a safety feature of some kind?

It's possible that AOD doesn't allow higher vcore as a safety feature. Most people agree it is better to OC in the BIOS but Overdrive is OK for some quick tests to get a reference point.

As far as vcore voltage it depends on your specific CPU, what frequency you are trying to run and if you desire a 100% P95 stable system or just 85%-90% P95 stable. Some people are happy with 85%-90% P95 stable but this can lead to a lot of frustration, BSOD, lost data, etc.

The Zambezi CPUs don't OC as easily or as high as the Vishera models but you can still OC them some. At the default vcore you are not likely to get more than a couple hundred MHz. higher before it becomes unstable unless you up the vcore. You certainly could end up in the ~1.45v vcore range for a 100% P95 stable system once you get close to the frequency limit of your CPU.

With a vcore of ~1.40v or higher you need a good tower HSF to handle the heat of an 8-core FX processor. You need to keep the max core temp at or below 61C according to AMD engineering. The higher you go in frequency and vcore the more heat you have to deal with.

I'd definitely suggest switching to the BIOS for OC'ing.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

Statistics
86434 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.