Topic Title: Can not rotate display to portrait Catalyst 10.1 Windows 7
Topic Summary: rotation options are not selectable in Catalyst Control Center, the Tray menu, nor Windows 7
Created On: 02/14/2010 05:15 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/14/2010 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FalconX
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/14/2010

I'm unable to select the portrait rotation option in Windows 7, Catalyst Control Center, nor the ATI tray menu. Does anyone know what I need to change?

Graphics Driver Version: 12/11/2009 version 8.690.0.0 and Catalyst Control Center 10.1 (2009.1211.1547.28237)
3 Monitors: 1X Dell 2007WFP @ 1680x1050 (DVI), 2X Dell P2010H @ 1600 X900 (1 DVI, 1 Display Port)  All 3 support rotation to portrait.
OS:
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
CPU: Core2Duo E6300 @ 1.86 GHz
RAM: 1x 4GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Graphics Card: Sapphire Vapor-X 100283VXL Radeon HD 5770 1 GB 128-bit
Motherboard: ASUSP5G43T-M Pro
Sound Card: On-board
Hard Drive: Western Digital WDC WD2500JS-75NCB3
Power Supply: OCZ ModXStream Pro Power Supply - 600-Watt

Screenshot of what I see, missing rotation option in Windows, and gray out options in Catalyst:

screenshot of my issue

Thank you for any pointers you can provide!



Edited: 02/15/2010 at 12:48 PM by FalconX
 02/15/2010 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FalconX
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/14/2010

I downgraded my drivers to 11/4/2009 8.671.0.0 and Catalyst 9.12 2009.1104.959.17837 and the rotation options were available again. I was able to setup all 3 monitors in eyefinity @ 2700 X 1600 .

No Idea why swapping out the drivers & CCC made a difference.

 02/16/2010 10:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PhantomFFR
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/16/2010

Hi,

it happened (or rather is happening to me as of right now) too.

I'm also on the 10.1 drivers. But the maddening thing is, it worked until about 60 minutes ago. Then me trying to change a 3d-setting in google earth apparently crashed my Windows 7 64bit computer and once it was rebooted, all screens are in landscape unable to be rotated.

Awesome.

 02/18/2010 07:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MarktheC
n00b

Posts: 18
Joined: 04/22/2009

Maybe try rearranging which port each monitor is attached to.  It worked for me with Catalyst 9.8. Catalyst 10.2 needed them swapped over again.

 02/20/2010 12:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
individualist
n00b

Posts: 11
Joined: 01/31/2010

I had this problem in 10.1, and I still have it in 10.2. Sometimes I can get the option to rotate to enable by unplugging monitors, plugging them in, shuffling between the Generic PnP driver and the proper .inf for my dell 2408wfp in display manager. But I've got no concrete fix. Very annoying.

If anyone could shed some light on this issue, that'd be great.

 

 03/04/2010 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
legoman666
n00b

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/06/2010

I'm having the same problem with my 3 monitors. I am not able to rotate any of them to portrait.

 03/12/2010 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merchant
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/12/2010

new here and got the same problem.

windows 7 x64 and 3 monitors

if 10.1 or 10.2 is installed all 3 of my monitors will change to landsacpe and i will not be able to rotate them back to portrait.

some have noted that if they plug and uplug or change switch ports they are able to get this working. it dose not form me.

what i did discover is if any two monitors are conected i can change the monitor display mode. if 3 monitros are conected i cannot.

monitor config is 2 hp w2207's and one dell 2210 i also noted that while conected the monitors will not sleep right either heres hopeing 10.3 will fix this. as i run my monitors in a eyfininty 3x1 portrait group

 03/18/2010 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gutcheck
n00b

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/05/2010

I have the same issue.  What gives?  Even if I wipe the driver and re-install, I can't get it to work right....

 03/18/2010 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merchant
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/12/2010

i have opened a support ticket with amd and it has been bumped up the line. Sent all the logs and reports they wanted hopefully they will address this . i want to get a 2nd  card and cross fire but wont until i can verify this is fixed.

Email from support

Your service request SR# XXXXXXX has been escalated to one of our

    experts who can better address your questions. We appreciate your

    patience, and thank you for your interest in AMD.

 

    Best Regards,

 

    AMD Global Customer Care.

 If anyone else can verify that if you remove one monitor the other two will rotate it might help narrow down the issue.

I simply upgraded to 10.1 and all 3 monitors locked to landscape, i disconnected one monitor and the system immediately allowed me to rotate the remaining 2 monitors. As soon as the 3rd monitor was reconnected all 3 locked to landscape again, reverting to the 9.12 hotfix driver was the only way to have 3 monitors and portrait mode. Here to hoping 10.3 will fix it

 

 



Edited: 03/18/2010 at 05:10 PM by merchant
 03/18/2010 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gutcheck
n00b

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/05/2010

I can confirm the exact same behavior.  If I unplug a screen then I can rotate again.

 03/19/2010 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merchant
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/12/2010

i dont know if anyone else is intrested but if you go to amds site you can open a case this is the info they wanted from me. the way i see it if we want them to fix it we need to provide them with the info they need to reslove it

 

Response and Service Request History:

we will gladly investigate this issue and escalate the case to our product specialists and driver developers..

Would you please provide us first the following information:

  • type and model of monitors connected
  • connection cable type
  • adapter used and connectors of each side of the cable
  • inputs and outputs used and tested
  • the driver version currently installed on your system
  • please also send us te following problem reports
  • We apologize for any inconvenience the use of our product may have caused.

  •  Please provide us with the following information so that we can  investigate your issue further.
  •   1. MS System Information Report
  •  Click on Start | All Programs | Accessories | System Tools | System Information. When the System Information window is open, click on File | Export. Once the report is created, please include it with  your ticket submission to AMD Customer Care.
  •   NOTE: For MS Windows Vista/7, go to the search field and type  "msinfo32" and press enter.
  •   2. MS DirectX Report
  • Go to Windows Start | Run | type "dxdiag" and press the OK.
  •  Click "Save All Information" and include with your ticket submission  to AMD Customer Care.
  •  NOTE: For MS Windows Vista/7, go to the search field and type  "dxdiag" and press enter.
  •   3. Belarc Advisor Report
  • Please download the Belarc Advisor - a free system diagnostics, system information and benchmarking to create a problem report as described:
  •   http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
  •  4. Please also create an Everest problem report by going to the following website and clicking the link
  •   http://www.lavalys.com/
  •  Install Everest Home Edition, and run the software by clicking on its icon on the desktop.
  •  Please click Next -> Choose “All Pages” -> click “HTML” -> click “Finish”.
  •  Once the report has been saved, attach it also to your response

 

 03/19/2010 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gutcheck
n00b

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/05/2010

Ok, I'll do that too.

I can now confirm that the re-install of the 9.12's "fix" the problem. 

 03/21/2010 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merchant
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/12/2010

i may have just figured this out

i downloded and tryed the 10.3a driver

installed it and had slightly difrent results 2 of my monitors stayed in portrait the the DP chenged to landscape and deactivated.

i tryed to open ccc and it wouldnt. changed the drivers on the monitors again and no help.

so i uninstalled the ati software less my raid controler driver and all 3 monitors came up in protrait before rebooting as soon as the driver was uninstalled. i rebooted and windows was still in portrait . i was about to put 9.12 back on when i thought to try 10.3a again and i had a 2nd thought i changed windows to landscape before installing the drivers. 

(ive goten good and moveing the mouse with the wrong screen orintation.

i installed 10.3 with all the monitors set to landscape. after the drivers installed in landscape mode the screen rotation stayed up on all 3 monitors. i changed the orintation from landscape to portarit while on 10.3 and rebooted. all 3 monitors stayed up ok.

i wonder if its a bug where if you install the drivers while in portrait the drivers messup and get confused as the defulat is landscape ffor windows.

try breaking your group switch all the screens to landscape and then install the newer driver then try and rotate.

 

 

 03/23/2010 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gutcheck
n00b

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/05/2010

Ok, I have no group its just 3 monitors, but I am PLP.  I have 2 monitors in portrait flanking my 30 inch in landscape.  So tell me again, what did you do?  You just set the monitors all to landscape and installed?

 03/23/2010 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merchant
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/12/2010

heres how i got it to work for me

1 uninstall all ati catalyst drivers except raid or stroage controler drivers.

2 reboot to finalize the change. set all your monitors to landscape.

3 install the driver when it finishes you should still have the options to rotate your monitors i did.

4 if you are useing eyefinity create a new group

i know this worked on 10.3a i have not tryed 10.1 or 10.2

 03/24/2010 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gutcheck
n00b

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/05/2010

No luck... same thing.

 03/24/2010 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merchant
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/12/2010

hum maybe i got lucky, did you use 10.2 or did you try the beta drivers (search 10.3a with google you can find them or wait for the officeal 10.3, i have not heard back from amd about my case but hopefully they are addressing this for all soon

 03/25/2010 12:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gutcheck
n00b

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/05/2010

So the 10.3 officials are out.... did they fix this?

 03/25/2010 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merchant
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/12/2010

NO i have confiremd this is not fixed in 10.3

i got home tonight and installed a 2nd 5770 to crossfire. i upgraded from 10.3a to 10.3 release and my monitors reverted to landscape and would not change back. i uninstalled the drivers deleted the atio folders and reinstalled 10.3 release still broke no tricks of changeing to landscape first worked. though if i turned off my DP monitro the remining two would rotate.

i uninstalled again and all monitors were able to rotate.

i reinstalled 10.3a and i was able to rotate all 3 monitors

the driver i am useing is from here

http://sites.amd.com/us/underground/tips/Pages/catalyst-10-3-preview.aspx

cut from ccc info driver and ccc versions it says 10.3 but this is the preview driver and it works

Driver Packaging Version    8.712.3-100313a-097309E-ATI   
Catalyst™ Version    10.3   
Provider    ATI Technologies Inc.   
2D Driver Version    8.01.01.1010   
2D Driver File Path    /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet003/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0000   
Direct3D Version    8.14.10.0735   
OpenGL Version    6.14.10.9704   
Catalyst™ Control Center Version    2010.0314.512.7418



Edited: 03/29/2010 at 06:23 PM by merchant
 03/29/2010 06:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merchant
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/12/2010

opps sorry guy i meant to say the 10.3a driver i linked works. all 3 monitors will rotate and eyefinity on crossfire is killer.  try the driver see if it works for you.

i will redit my edit lol

 

Statistics
84181 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.