Topic Title: Xfire and skyrim low FPS
Topic Summary: New drivers/game profiles needed
Created On: 11/11/2011 04:06 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/11/2011 04:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zuxx
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/14/2010

5850 xfire here, it runs better with single card, how's going to you ?

 11/11/2011 05:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shockabuku
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/18/2010

Same here,  2 x 5850.  Getting better framerates with CrossfireX disabled.  Familiar story 

 11/11/2011 05:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 401
Joined: 08/21/2011

and you both expect someone to solve your problems without system specs.i



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 (oem disc)

 11/11/2011 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zuxx
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/14/2010

Originally posted by: goodplay and you both expect someone to solve your problems without system specs.i

 

Copy/paste replyes, no thanks.

My specs would'n help anyway.

Don't assume that everybody who posts here is an "ignorant".

I made this post just to know how's going on different cards setups, it's driver/game profiles problem, as it is for F2011, duoble FPS with single card, and as it has been for every new released game with ATI xfire.

 11/11/2011 07:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kriaNk
Cookie Monster

Posts: 472
Joined: 12/30/2010

Andrew D

We're working on a CAP update for Skyrim; as soon as an ETA is known I'll let you guys know
@CatalystCreator on Twitter, follow him! ;-)


-------------------------

Desktop: PSU CM Silent Pro M700 - AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.92 GHz - Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 - Corsair XMS3 8 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz - Philips 27" 1080p - Western Digital 500 GB - Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 @ 1000/1425  - SteelSeries USB Soundcard - X360 Controller - Case CM Storm Enforcer - Catalyst 12.11 - W7 x64 SP1

 11/11/2011 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zuxx
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/14/2010

 

 

Originally posted by: kriaNk Andrew D

 

We're working on a CAP update for Skyrim; as soon as an ETA is known I'll let you guys know
@CatalystCreator on Twitter, follow him! ;-)

 

 

Thanks for the info, appreciated

 11/11/2011 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

Originally posted by: Zuxx

 

My specs would'n help anyway.

 

Don't assume that everybody who posts here is an "ignorant".

 

Of course system specs are important, it helps for those trying to help out to know what components you're running and what software environment your under and what drivers / CAPs you're using etc .. and nobody was assuming anything either.

What's "ignorant" is refusing to help those who are trying to help you !! I see from another post that you had no problems in doing so before, so why not here ? Or at least make a signature like mine and everybody else's if you don't want to type it out all the time .. ..



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 11/11/2011 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12254
Joined: 04/17/2008

Turnabout is fair play, Bethesda whined about how hard working with the PC is and users whine about how badly their games run (RAGE, TES V, etc)...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/11/2011 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sensei
n00b

Posts: 19
Joined: 01/28/2011

Originally posted by: Gr33nGecko
Originally posted by: Zuxx

 

 

 

My specs would'n help anyway.

 

 

 

Don't assume that everybody who posts here is an "ignorant".

 

 

 

Of course system specs are important, it helps for those trying to help out to know what components you're running and what software environment your under and what drivers / CAPs you're using etc .. and nobody was assuming anything either.

 

What's "ignorant" is refusing to help those who are trying to help you !! I see from another post that you had no problems in doing so before, so why not here ? Or at least make a signature like mine and everybody else's if you don't want to type it out all the time .. ..

 

 

Excuse me, but everbody know - when new game released = problem is on driver level. This problem have not only are these people. This global phenomenon and it will be until game developers start to optimize the game for a CrossfireX or AMD should release fix soon ... within 2-3 days, and not a month later, when this game is nobody cares.

So problem is drivers and users not guilty. You have to think a little before you say such things to see and the fact that AMD has horrible optimization.

BF3 released 25.10.2011...Now is 11.11.2011 and its still works like ####. Again users is guilty.. Need send specs to AMD support?

And this not a just casual game for 500 players.. This game waited 75% of world gamers community. Optimization problem for a long time to be regarded as statistics, not just an isolated incident ... What AMD does not want to do. When someone buying/using AMD product its must be a final product - not like buy its for big money and even then use 1,000,000 of utilities to start this work correctly or wait 2-4 weeks for fix. Optimization is hard.. I believe and understand it as just human, but not like AMD products user.

Excuse me 1 more time.



Edited: 11/11/2011 at 12:47 PM by Sensei
 11/11/2011 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

Originally posted by: Sensei

Excuse me, but everbody know - when new game released = problem is on driver level. 

 

.. yeah right, it's just the drivers at fault is it .. ? That's why EA/DICE are working on a patch to resolve issues with THEIR game code in BF3 .. That's why the devs of RAGE released a patch to fix the errors in THEIR code .. same with Cyrysis and several others !! Can't ALWAYS blame vga card drivers for issues all of the time ..

Yes, sending system specs / configurations to AMD's driver team would help, as they would see what configs cause issues and those which don't etc .. that's why they have a system spec part in their driver feedback page .. Or do you expect them to always guess things to make it all work right ?

BF3 was released half way through a driver release and a driver set set for WHQL testing .. if you knew anything about how drivers are written and released, you'd understand something ..

I'd excuse you, but you just don't seem to get it, nor do you wish to understand things, nor do you wish to stop making ill-informed and stupid comments ..

 



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 11/12/2011 03:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cq842000
Member

Posts: 152
Joined: 02/10/2009

First, my laptop specs...

2nd Gen mobile i7 2670 @ 2.8ghz

AMD Radeon HD 6990M @ 850/1100

8gb DDR3 @ 1600mhz (CL9)

Perhaps somebody needs to inform HardOCP of the facts Gr33n (good to see you again by the way)... I can personally say that I have visual corruption (pink textures in the distance, and weird jittering at times, accompanied by fps dips uncharacteristic of my notebook's performance category complimented by so far three(3) CTDs with no error that truly happened at random). Meanwhile HardOCP makes it a point to rub in the recent game launch AMD-side flubs such as Rage, BF3, Deus EX: Missing Link to further elaborate AMD's game support fails vs Nvidia's(though I've had colleagues and overclockers alike say that NV has it's fair share of issues). Meanwhile I patiently await performance and stability fixes from whomever offers them (AMD and/or Bethesda). I am liking the game so far though. The following quote was taken directly from HardOCP.

 

The Bottom Line

 

"While we have not finished this game yet, and cannot comment on other areas of this game, we do have some striking initial impressions. Our initial impression is that this game runs better on, and has a better gameplay experience with, the GeForce GTX 580 and GeForce GTX 580 SLI. We had no mouse lag, smooth performance, faster performance, no bugs in sight as of yet. We were also able to use SLI thanks to NVIDIA releasing a Beta driver one day before Skyrim launched with full SLI support in the game.

 

We have harped over this before, but this game shows once again that AMD's driver support is biting it in the butt on a new game release. With not even an ETA on a new CAP for Skyrim to support CrossFireX, and no performance driver in sight, it is rather depressing for AMD GPU owners. We keep seeing this with new game launches these past few months. Rage, Deus Ex: Missing Link, even Battlefield 3 had better and working performance and SLI drivers from NVIDIA on game day launch, while AMD support was lacking.

 

With CrossFireX and SLI being based on profile support AMD cannot afford to lag this far behind on new game launches. NVIDIA simply has more support out of the gate for SLI in new games it seems. Gamers don't like to wait. When a new big title like this is released and unlocked at a certain time on a certain date, gamers are lined up waiting to play it right then and there. It matters that performance and Dual-GPU acceleration is supported when the game launches, and not days after.

 

First impressions are everything, and with this game, first impressions tell us that GTX 580 gameplay experience is just better. We look forward to testing Skyrim more and finding out how performance and mainstream video cards compare as well as an in-depth look at image quality. Hopefully with some new AMD drivers as well. Stay tuned."



-------------------------
Incomparabilis(Qsys Mk.V)---MountainMods Ascension | Intel Core i7 980x | EVGA X58 Classified 4-way SLI | G.Skill 12gb DDR3-2000 | 3x Asus VH222 1080p in 3x1L eyefinity | 2X 640gb Caviar Black | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 @ 1200/1500 + GTX460 PhysX | Antec TruePower Quattro 1200W+ Antec TPQ 1000 (Windows 7HP x64)

Edited: 11/12/2011 at 03:23 AM by cq842000
 11/12/2011 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Amaymon
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/12/2011

I've got a 5970 and the same fps problem, but as a temporarly solution i use Radeon Pro and forse cpu priority and gpu crossfire optimization(Oblivion profile) from there and now it's actually playable..can try that ntil the new CAPs

 11/12/2011 07:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cornugon
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/07/2008

Originally posted by: Amaymon I've got a 5970 and the same fps problem, but as a temporarly solution i use Radeon Pro and forse cpu priority and gpu crossfire optimization(Oblivion profile) from there and now it's actually playable..can try that ntil the new CAPs

It's better to 'Turn off CrossfireX' for now, it's fairly smooth on 'High' that way on a 5970.

And about the HardOCP article, they're partially right in the way of AMD not supporting CfX on newly released games right away.

I only bought a handful of games at launch this year, and the only games I own for which AMD DID a great job at launch were Dragon Age 2 (which turned the tables for once, because it ran like crap on nVidia) and Deus Ex: Human Revolution.

I know a lot of issues aren't just because of AMD or nVidia not releasing proper drivers/multigpu-profiles. In most cases game devs are also to blame (Rage being the prime example, which I didn't buy, and am glad to in hindsight). And preview copies using slightly different code compared to retail ones.

It's just too bad that the new CAP won't appear this weekend. But I hope it comes early next week, and doesn't provide bright lights which can be seen through walls/floors (Witcher 2...)



-------------------------
<html />
 11/18/2011 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WalterDasTrevas
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 11/18/2011

CFX HD6870 here, and basically ALL new games have negative scale or graphical artifacts.



-------------------------
CFX HD6870 Sapphire - Phenom 2 1090BE - 6GB Corsair DDR3 1600Mhz
 11/20/2011 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tswb13
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/28/2011

same here.  same with bf3 still.

one card seems to do the job with 60fps on both games tho.

 



-------------------------
Antec 1200, Gigabyte G1 Guerella killer mobo 2 pci-e x16 slots, i7 920 @3.20 on liquid cooling, Corsair 850tx psu, OCZ 12gb of 1600 ddr3, asus 5850, xfx 5850 black edition both cards have same stock clocks, win7 x64,
 11/21/2011 06:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dontetris
n00b

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/11/2011

Seriously, nvidia users got their beta driver for Skyrim BEFORE game launch, they were able to figure out, what they will need to change for sli...
Most of the ppl already finished the game and amd still has no crossfire cap? Not to mention last update about it on twitter was on 15th as "working on it" and thats all. It's been like what, 10 days now since game launch?
Really great customer support, its just the game of the year, nothing special...
I could have bought a 6870 instead of 6990 and the game would run smoother lol.

 11/21/2011 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bty
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/16/2011

No one is playing Skyrim, so why should they care?

 

/sarcasm off

 

 

 11/21/2011 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

 

Yeah, like they don't care very much, so they put out a new performance driver and are working on a CrossFire solution too ..

 

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/Catalyst1111aperformance.aspx

 

.. they'll get there, you just have to be patient.



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 11/21/2011 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nyran125
n00b

Posts: 18
Joined: 11/01/2011

this is why having 2 cards + is over rated.  Instead of getting 2 5850's, or 2 bla bla bla's or 2 low end cards to makeaup a high end card(never works, and you ALWAYS miss out on the high card's features. get a single 6970 for the same price as 2 and it will clean all your problems right up for all your games and you get the benefit of having a faster better card too.

Why people keep buying into having to have 2 lower end cards, is beyond me, you're going to have issues and they always have been with newer games and especially console driven games for PC for whatever reason, who cares what the reason is. Just get 1 high end card and these crossfire issues are gone.

I have 1 AMD 6870 it runs SKYRIM on MAX with a intel 2.67 duel core , winXP and 3gb ram without any slowdowns at a constistent frame rate.

 11/22/2011 05:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lem_
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/23/2011

11.11a Driver is amazing try it! one 6850 runs Skyrim on High 60fps solid, can only get better



-------------------------
CPU: *cough* intel *cough* OS:Win7 64bit Pro
GPU: 2x 6850 CFX[830/1100] CASE: CM Sniper
RAM: Corsair 6GB Dominator GT M/B: ASUS PX58P6D-E
AMD Support and Game » The Archive » Xfire and skyrim low FPS

1 2 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84332 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.