Topic Title: Should I even bother to upgrade my graphics card?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/24/2011 10:57 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/24/2011 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
djdestructo
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/11/2011

I am looking to upgrade my computer a bit and I was wondering if I should even bother to upgrade or not after reading up on bottlenecking, and problems with some of the cards.

Here is my current specs

Asus P5Q Deluxe

Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66

OCZ 1066 (4GB) Ram

Radeon 3870

OCZ 600watt PSU

OS: Win XP 32bit SP3

What I am looking to upgrade to:

Asus P5Q Deluxe

Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66

Kingston 1066 (8GB) Ram

Radeon 6870

OCZ 600watt PSU

OS: Win 7 Pro 64bit SP1

Will I see any difference in speed and graphics?

I would like to get BF3 and MW3 in the future, but would like to know if it is even worth it, or if I should just wait and save for a new system.

 

 11/24/2011 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12658
Joined: 04/17/2008

You might, slow CPU is slow, be better to go ahead and get Windows 7 now and then wait for Christmas and the HD 7800 series before doing a complete system update, mobo, ram, CPU, and vid card.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/24/2011 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
djdestructo
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/11/2011

Thanks I should mention I have all the upgraded parts other then the video card, so I am just wondering if the 6870 will be worth it, and if I would see any increase in proformance.

 11/24/2011 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7273
Joined: 11/13/2009

You will see a increase in performance. Also you will have DX11.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/24/2011 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12658
Joined: 04/17/2008

I would add an asterisk onto stumped statement and say you will only see an improvement in performance in GAMES, not *****CPU limited console ports and games which have sloppier coding than a pig pen

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/24/2011 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

that cpu should be sufficient with 6870, some overclocking wouldnt hurt though. You can max out mw3 and set BF3 on ultra with MSAA off.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
Statistics
86417 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.