Topic Title: Dispaly Port Monitor doesn't wake after sleep anymore?
Topic Summary: The monitor connected to my Active Display port doesn't wake!
Created On: 12/09/2011 04:32 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/09/2011 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blackeagle1994
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/08/2010

Okay hey guys, i have a really annoying thing happening.
Basically when i put my computer to sleep or shut it down, when it wakes up the Monitor connected to my Active Display port adaptor doesn't wake up. The only fix i've found is to diconnect it from the Graphics card and then reinsert it.
This only happens if the computer has been on for say half an hour or more though? Im pretty sure its only started happening after i updated to 11.11 drivers aswell.

Im using a Saphire 6950 and a 'Wicked Active Display Port adaptor' i've also tried this on my 5870 and had the same problem and i've used 3 different Active display port adaptors but all the same brand.

Thanks so much for any help!

 12/09/2011 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

Since you provide no information on your computer...who knows? I will tell you that the problem is not your gpu. Vista and Win7 both have problems returning from 'sleep'. Why don't you google that? Are you up-to-date with windows update? In your computer power settings where you tell your computer when to sleep...there are advanced options available. Check each one. I never understood the real benefit for a home computer to sleep anyhow....turn off screen? yeah.

Google is your friend:  http://www.google.com/search?q=windows+7+sleep+problems&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-Address&ie=&oe=



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 12/09/2011 08:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blackeagle1994
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/08/2010

Sorry about that, here are my specs:

My specs are:
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 BE965 @3.9ghz W/Noctua NH-U9B
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-MA780G-UD3H
RAM: 8gb (4xKingston DDR2 2gb 800)
GPU: Saphire 6950 w/eyefinity 4way setup (CCC 11.11)
PSU: Vantec ION2+ 600w
HDD: WD 250gb, WD 1tb, WD 1tb, WD 640gb <<All Green Models.
OS: Windows 7 64bit Ultimate

Don't worry about the sleep part, the monitor doesnt start when it sleeps OR after a shut down if the computer is left for a while. Yes Windows is upto date and yes I certainly did google it, i just couldn't find an answer so i thought I'd ask for some help here
It wouldn't be the GPU and it's unlikely its the active display port as my previous one of the same model worked flawlesly till it broke. Im guessing it would possibly be due to the drivers?
Thanks!

 12/09/2011 08:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

 

One thing you should seriously consider looking into, is that PSU of yours .. OEM is ToPower, whilst not exactly in the same bracket as HuntKey ( garbage, pure and simple ) it isn't much better really .. I'm surprised you don't have more issues with things, seeing as the HD6950 draws about 17A @ 12v and that unit outputs 22A MAX or around 18A nominal. You really are pushing that unit into the red-line of it's ouputs, and that may cause issues later on down the line, in light of the quality of the unit ..



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 12/10/2011 12:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blackeagle1994
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/08/2010

Yeah upgrading the PSU is definitely something i will look at soon! But for now, I just wanna get this problem sorted out.
And im pretty sure it wouldn't be related to the PSU as it worked fine for months but just now all of a sudden it's deciding to stop working

Any other ideas? Thanks!

 12/10/2011 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blackeagle1994
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/08/2010

Okay so for the last day i've been using a different Active Display port adaptor(this time a Saphire DP>VGA) and it's worked fine. I guess the problem was the adaptor.

Statistics
88933 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.