Topic Title: AMD 7970 Crossfire Artifacting
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/06/2012 08:59 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/06/2012 08:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
apexitt
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/06/2012

I am seeing Artifacts only in Crossfire with my 2 Amd 7970s when I play Skyrim: I see Artifacts when I go through my Items Menu and when I talk to characters in game in the dialogue boxs, it flickes and changes colors. In Crysis 1 the cars flciker and the tentacles on the aliens flicker. Bad Company 2 the whole screen flickers & in Batman Arkham city on in the intro splash screens I see flickering. None of this happens when I'm not running Crossfire. I installed my cards in my friends machine who has a 7970 and we saw the same issues I'm reporting. So I was pretty close to RMAing these.. Anyone else have these problems?

 02/06/2012 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3515
Joined: 03/01/2009

Do the cards work fine individually? 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: x2 XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 02/07/2012 08:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
apexitt
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/06/2012

Yes, they do work GREAT with no Artifacting Individually.. the only reason I haven't seen any people reporting this issue in forums

 02/07/2012 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

http://benchmark3d.com/amd-catalyst-12-3-rc-8-95-31-january-for-hd7000

 

.. try those, but don't forget, the card is very new and the drivers are still being tweaked etc, and you might have to wait a while until support for those games with that card, and CAPs etc are released.



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 02/07/2012 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12881
Joined: 04/17/2008

Not to mention that Skyrim is a DRM laiden shittily coded poor excuse for a game which is an insult to the TES series.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/07/2012 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
apexitt
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/06/2012

I'm having a weird issue now in 2d mode where my browsing the internet my the screen will randomly go black with the broswer windows and moving my mouse over the black areas will clear it showing parts of the page that are black. This just started today... My temps are excellent at 34c on both cards in windows. I tried those 12.3 yesterday but gaming performance didn't seem as good as the 11.12/ 8.921.2-120119a-132101E-ATI. I still had the same issues with Crysis and Skyrim with the 12.3 drivers. I mean if it was a bad memory chip I would see artifacts in every game, right? In skyrim like i said only the in the items menu on certain Items and crysis on cars and tentacles..

 02/07/2012 10:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
apexitt
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/06/2012

I'm just going to tough it out until the WHQL drivers come out.. THX guys. I will keep you updated. Really thanks for all the responses!

 02/15/2012 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Skoolz
Member

Posts: 35
Joined: 03/28/2009

I just wanted to explain my situation, as it may relate to yours.

I OC'd my 7970 to 1125/1575 clocks.  Every review on the card I had read said it overclocks without a hitch to these levels, no voltage increase needed.  Well, in Skyrim, Portal 2, Witcher 2, everything, I was getting small, flickering textures on the environment.  Sometimes I'd see a checkered pattern in the flash.  It was not overwhelming, but was annoying.  I checked out my temperature, and it was getting to 75 degrees and above while under these loads.  (my case has poor cooling right now, unfortunately... long story)  I set the fan at 100%, with the same overclock, ran the same games, and the temperature dropped to around 62 degrees max.  Suddenly, the 'artifacting' was no longer occuring.  So these cards do not like high temps when overclocked.  Perhaps, one or both of your cards is getting hot in the Xfire setup, and causing something similar.

In short, check your temps.  If one of your cards is above 60-65 degrees, it may be the cause.

 02/15/2012 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brutal_Truth
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/15/2012

I have artifacts in Crysis 2 with 7970x2 CF. 1st game launch- as the character came for the 1st time outdoors- some objects flickering. Futher moving: global lighting bug: everything become darker all of a sudden, then momentarily again lighter. This bug appears repeatedly. Water flickering: some movement in the water makes sometimes its sufrace flicker. WTF?! None of this appears with CF disabled! Game settings: 1920x1200, ultra, DX11, no high-res textures, patch 1.9 (yeah, I really need CF to play this with 60 fps)

System: intel lga1366 core i7-960, ASUS p6T (intel X58), RAM 3x2Gb OCZ 1.5V DDR3-1333 



Edited: 02/15/2012 at 02:51 PM by Brutal_Truth
 02/15/2012 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

 

The "WTF" can be answered in very simple terms - NEWEST VGA CARD IN THE LINE-UP AND STILL HAS DRIVERS BEING TWEAKED FOR IT, AND NEEDS NEWER CAP PROFILES FOR CORRECT WORKING OF XFIRE IN CERTAIN GAMES !!

Totally not rocket science to understand ..



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 02/16/2012 12:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brutal_Truth
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/15/2012

I can totally understand this, but I think the "driver tweakers" should have payed more attention to CF operability in the games, that really need it, and Crysis 2 should be (IMHO) the 2nd on the list (the 1st- Metro 2033). Especially when one remembers that CF flickering issues in Crysis 2 are known from the first day of its release (on 5870). I hope some of the "driver tweakers" read all this sh... 



Edited: 02/16/2012 at 03:27 AM by Brutal_Truth
Statistics
87482 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.