Topic Title: 12.2 causing STO black boxes
Topic Summary: 12.2 drivers cause black boxes all over screen in STO
Created On: 03/08/2012 06:11 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/08/2012 06:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nov8tr
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/08/2012

I installed the new 12.2 drivers today on my AMD 5850 and fired up Star Trek Online. OMG, black and grey boxes all over the screen and the rest of the graphics just look hidious. Checked the STO forums and there are already several threads with a number of post about the problem. So I am not alone. It is happening across a wide range of AMD video cards. Of course it has had no effect on people with Nvidia drivers. Even more bizarre is the pre release 12.2 drivers did not do this. Just the release 12.2. Very odd. I am going to have to uninstall 12.2 and reinstall 12.1 until the drivers are properly fixed. This is not my ideal choice. I would much prefer the drivers to work, lol. I hope for a fix very soon as I play this game many hours a day. Thanks.



-------------------------
I'm old not dead. :D
 03/11/2012 02:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Archameon
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/11/2012

Thanks for posting this. I have the exact same issues with my HD5770 1GB.

A temporary fix that works for me is switching the AA (anti-aliasing) to OFF.

 

 03/11/2012 04:30 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7067
Joined: 11/13/2009

Quote:  Of course it has had no effect on people with Nvidia drivers. Even more bizarre is the pre release 12.2 drivers did not do this. Just the release 12.2. Very odd. I am going to have to uninstall 12.2 and reinstall 12.1 until the drivers are properly fixed.

Very odd...why would you install the 12.1 when you just said the 12.2 pre release worked for you? Why wouldn't you reinstall the pre-release? I think you should go



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
84269 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.