Topic Title: 12.2 ccc not starting with windows 7
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/09/2012 03:04 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/09/2012 03:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

hi guys,

i am  getting the problem of the CCC not starting properly, all i can see in the task manager is the CLIstart.exe and it just hangs. there is no MOM.exe or CCC.exe and when i put my mouse over the icon in the system tray there are no options like there use to be. when i click on the icon it vanishes and then it starts ?

i have had to go back to 12.1 driver becuase i am also getting bad artifacts in skyrim all over the screen.

any help please or should i just stay with 12.1 for now, i am getting mass effect 3 today will the 12.1 driver be ok to play it also?



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 03/09/2012 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 530
Joined: 01/15/2011

Hmm...That's odd. I just removed the 12.2 Pre-Cert Drivers and installed the "actual" 12.2 VECC suite and 12.2 CAP a few hours ago. I'm not running into any problems.

You may have to remove the "left-over" files that are still in your system/registry.

Did you restart  your computer after uninstalling the 12.1 drivers?

12.1 should be okay for Mass Effect 3 (offical 12.2 doesn't say anything about ME3 in it) Get the 12.2 CAP though since there is stuff in there for the game.



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 03/09/2012 06:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

yeh i express uninstalled the 12.1 driver then rebooted andf installed the 12.2 driver. i was getting a AODdriver4.1 error in eventviewer because the old version of the AODdriver4.01 was still in there and trying to be used. i sorted that out tho by uninstalling the AODdriver4.01 and then using regedit to delete all the AODdriver4.01 files left over, so that was sorted out but the ccc start problem is still there?

i have only just installed windows 7 again so i don`t have much on my pc at the moment, is it worth me just reinstalling windows 7 again and then install the 12.2 driver and caps first so there is no conflict ?

i don`t know what to do else ?



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 03/09/2012 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

well i reinstalled windows 7 and installed the amd 12.2 driver and still it takes 10 mins for the ccc to start. i am not the only with this problem

http://www.overclock.net/t/1226558/12-3-ccc-exe-not-starting-up-on-windows-startup-and-crashing-having-to-restart-or-huge-delay-for-ccc-exe

hope they fix this soon as the problem is in the 12.3 preview driver as well



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 03/09/2012 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

 

Ten minutes ? .. Mine takes all of a few seconds .. dunno if that's because I use an SSD or what .. but still, ten minutes, that's very weird ..



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 03/09/2012 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Buffed

Posts: 97
Joined: 08/07/2009

Did you do all the Windows updates after the fresh OS install?

Most importantly the .NET updates.



-------------------------
 03/09/2012 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

yes every update is installed for windows 7



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 03/09/2012 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7061
Joined: 11/13/2009

The first time you open CCC after a driver install...it takes longer. Shouldn't be that long from then on.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/09/2012 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Cookie Monster

Posts: 484
Joined: 05/02/2010

i did not remove 12.1 this time before installing 12.2.  i usually do the express uninstall first then do an express install, did not this time. i have not had a problem.

 



-------------------------

 motherboard gigabyte: ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios F8h , amd 965 cpu at 4.0 , sileneX efz-120ha4 cooler, 8 gig patriot pgs34g1600llka memory, xfx 750w power supply, xfx 6970 graphics card, 3-22"1080p monitors , coolermaster HAF 922case, windows 7-64

 03/09/2012 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trainfield
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/09/2009

same problem here with Windows 7 x64. CLIstart.exe hangs for 4-5 min.

 03/09/2012 05:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

Yep a lot of people are having this problem. Even with a fresh install of windows 7 I have the problem. I have never had a problem with a amd driver since I bought my 5870 3 years ago. This is the worst driver ever. I've gone back to 12.1. Hope they sort this soon 



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 03/09/2012 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 530
Joined: 01/15/2011

Hmm...did you reinstall your chipset / motherboard drivers after you did a fresh install of Windows?

Does other programs take longer to open? If so, it could be other hardware related.

This is quite odd indeed; we're both running HD 58XX cards but...



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 03/10/2012 03:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

yeh all drivers and updates are installed, i have done nothing different with the 12.2 driver than i have been doing with all the other drivers i have been installing over the past 3 years. its just a bad driver coz i am not the only one facing theses problems. i am staying with 12.1 for now its working great



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 03/10/2012 04:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1di9
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/06/2012

I've the same problem, CCC take a lot of time to start....I've Windows 7 64 bit, and with previous version of AMD drivers I hadn't this kind of problem...

 03/10/2012 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7061
Joined: 11/13/2009

I believe the extra time it is taking for CCC to open has to do with the AML Device Install....which I haven't seen before the 12.1's. It is new. Since AMD supplied no information on this application...I had to do some research...but here is the answer....and it has something to do with OpenCL. Read it for yourself and don't worry that it takes CCC longer to open....there is nothing wrong with the driver or the install. It's just NEW.

http://developer.amd.com/afds/assets/presentations/2146_final.pdf



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/10/2012 01:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jim
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/23/2012

Catalyst 12.2, Windows XP, Radeon HD 4600, Viewsonic 1920x1080 HDMI LCD, .NET stuff updated to 4.0.

My problem seems related.  The image is underscanned by a few per cent (black border), the system seems to want to autoscale the image by the same few percent, resulting in periodic rows of blurring similar to anti-aliasing.

No adjustment is possible as CCC.exe runs without a screen presence for 20+ secs (seen in winXP task manager) then quits silently.  Can't find any log file to examine the wreckage for a reason.

A total CCC de-install (back to VGA), reboot, & CCC re-install produced no joy.

 03/10/2012 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7061
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: jim Catalyst 12.2, Windows XP, Radeon HD 4600, Viewsonic 1920x1080 HDMI LCD, .NET stuff updated to 4.0.

My problem seems related.  The image is underscanned by a few per cent (black border), the system seems to want to autoscale the image by the same few percent, resulting in periodic rows of blurring similar to anti-aliasing.

No adjustment is possible as CCC.exe runs without a screen presence for 20+ secs (seen in winXP task manager) then quits silently.  Can't find any log file to examine the wreckage for a reason.

A total CCC de-install (back to VGA), reboot, & CCC re-install produced no joy.

Your problems are not necessarily related. XP....You should be posting in the legacy forum.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/10/2012 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Cookie Monster

Posts: 484
Joined: 05/02/2010

just on the new stuff when i go to some web pages there is a tab for amd steady video which is supported by my card.

 



-------------------------

 motherboard gigabyte: ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios F8h , amd 965 cpu at 4.0 , sileneX efz-120ha4 cooler, 8 gig patriot pgs34g1600llka memory, xfx 750w power supply, xfx 6970 graphics card, 3-22"1080p monitors , coolermaster HAF 922case, windows 7-64

 03/10/2012 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shadowmill
Member

Posts: 44
Joined: 04/29/2011

Same problem here. The Catalyst installer is so lagged.

And every time i try install the installer stop working in this...

At now i re-install the catalyst 12.1 and works well.

Sry, but 12.2 fail.

 03/11/2012 04:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redriver
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/11/2012

Same thing here.

Fresh Win 7 with dont't working CCC...

Statistics
84252 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.