Topic Title: 7950 overclocking
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/09/2012 01:27 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/09/2012 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
65caliente
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/08/2012

Hi, I am attempting to overclock my gigabyte 7950's in crossfire (which I hear overclock like a beast). Every time I move the slider for the frequency up even a little bit I have stability problems and no game will play. I tried raising the voltage a little as well with no luck. so I have two questions:

1. Is it possible to overclock in crossfire mode and if so what am I doing wrong?

2. What is a surefire test to make sure a graphics card isn't faulty?

Thanks.

* I forgot to add that my PSU is a Corsair HX 1050 watt, CPU is a i5 2500k oc'd to 4.5 ghz, and mobo is an asrock prof fatality gen 3.

 03/09/2012 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3506
Joined: 03/01/2009

Try Individually overclocking the cards with crossfire disabled or the other card removed and see what luck you have. 

Have you tried MSI afterburner? Or are you just useing VECC.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 03/09/2012 03:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

For OCing tests, use Furmark, Heaven, or any other program.. I use Furmark to test my OCs on my cards..

2 identical cards never OC the same, so maybe doing it on CFx is causing the crashes, so like Vantharas told you, test one by one..

Use MSI AfterBurner to do the OC, like this: move the slider to increase, let's say, 5-10Mhz, save, and run Furmark (or the program you have chosen).. If artifacts/blue screens shows up, that's the limit and you have to step back.. Of course, this is on each card, not CFx..

Sorry can't be more helpful on the CFx OCing, but I only have one card, and always have.. But for the OC, sure..

 

Best regards..



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 03/09/2012 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
65caliente
n00b

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/08/2012

Okay thanks for the suggestions. I am just hoping my cards aren't faulty as I was getting unusually low framerates in some games. Just cause 2 dark tower benchmark only averaged 40 fps with all settings maxed and vsync off. I never got any artifacts or weird things like that though...

 03/09/2012 06:11 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12360
Joined: 04/17/2008

Just because your card can't overclock doesn't make it faulty, product binning makes overclocking possible and is not a guarantee that a card will be able to overclock, it means that any given card is guaranteed to work at the frequencies set to it by the manufacturer.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84832 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.