Topic Title: XFX 6570 and 6750 CrossFire Help
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/22/2012 06:24 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/22/2012 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Apothe0sis
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/22/2012

I was wondering if I need a crossfire bridge to crossfire these? or if it crossfires internally without the bridge. Because I did have my 6570 crossfired with my built in 6000 Series and that worked fine.

 04/23/2012 08:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 441
Joined: 08/21/2011

so,you have previously had a crossfire setup.then you have seen the compatibility charts on amd website.also how to setup crossfire on same site.see "faq" in forum header page for required system info,if you can't solve your problem(after reading relevant info on website).



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 

 04/23/2012 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Apothe0sis
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/22/2012

Ive seen the compatitbility chart but it doesnt list my 6570 and I know this card is crossfire capable because I've had it crossfired and so has everyone else. I know the 6k series has alot that are compatible. From what I've read all data should be sent over the PCI Express bus for the crossfire so no Bridge should be required. But yet I'm not getting an option to crossfire them.

 04/23/2012 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 926
Joined: 09/11/2008

considering the 6750 does require a crossfire bridge,The 6570 will not work with it.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 04/24/2012 12:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Apothe0sis
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/22/2012

Funny considering theres no teeth for the crossfire on the 6750 I've already checked, and the card is crossfire capable so.. you tell me?

 04/24/2012 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 548
Joined: 01/15/2011

You can only Crossfire graphics cards from the same "family."

Radeon HD 6770/6750 with another 6770/6750....6990 (essentially 6970 X2) with another 6990 / 6970 / 6950.

There are SOME exceptions, but again, only some.

The most recent / common is the Radoen HD 67XX series with the previous Radeon HD 57XX series. Why? because they are both essentially the same thing - the 6700 series has a minor HDMI 1.4 update, new BIOS, new support...

Directly from AMD's Radoen HD 6700 series page:

"Based on the same hardware as the ATI Radeon™ HD 5700 Series..."

You cannot Crossfire...say a 6870 with a 6670 because they both use two completely different Core designs / architecture.

EDIT:  Here is the most recent Crossfire Compability chart from AMD. As you can see, the HD 6750 only works with another 6770/6750 OR the 5770/5750.

http://sites.amd.com/PublishingImages/Public/Graphic_Illustrations/WebBannerJPEG/AMD_CrossfireX_Chart_1618W.jpg



-------------------------

FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 + Dual-X HD 7970 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64



Edited: 04/24/2012 at 12:56 AM by -rascal-
 04/24/2012 01:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Apothe0sis
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/22/2012

Thank you for the more detailed explanation, Appreciate it.

 04/24/2012 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 926
Joined: 09/11/2008

the 4 xfx 6750's on newegg all have the crossfire bridge connecters on them,thats what i went by.or is the 6750 not an XFX?

well now they list 2,As i should have just went to xfx's site,there they do show one without the bridge connector,Sry for that.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.



Edited: 04/24/2012 at 11:56 AM by Earnhardt
 04/24/2012 12:51 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12915
Joined: 04/17/2008

Just an FYI too, even if there two cards in the same series and family, like the 6570, and one has a Crossfire connector and the other does Crossfire through the PCIe bus, those cards can't even be Crossfired.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/30/2012 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mobo Mojo
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/30/2012

I am working on a 6870, 6850 crossfire and have seen the compatiability chart.  I'd like to read the set up link (goodplay) has referenced.

I've been running a 6850 card, but wanted to boost things up to power two 23" monitors and keep max graphics settings, plus fps.

I added an 6870 in crossfire (both are AMD radeon xfx cards)

I had  a decrease in performance when benchmarking the crossed and uncrossed configurations within the DiRT 3 benchmark.

DiRT 3 benchmark 4.30.12

Resolution      1920 x 1080 running one 23" monitor
Refresh Rate    60
Multisample     4x MSAA
VSYNC           OFF
Aspect Ratio    AUTO

All other Graphics  HIGH
Post Processor      HIGH

6870 PCIe slot 1
fps AVG 85.7, MIN 65.5

6870 PCIe slot 1
6850 PCIe slot 5
fps AVG 68.9, MIN 52.3

I assume the 6870, installed in the PCIe #1 slot, will be seen as the master, while the 8650 in the #2 will be the slave.  That's where I started.

One of the (other forum) guys told me the second card should be in the PCIe #5 slot.
I tried it without any measurable change, although I like the increased ventilation.


4.30.12   Driver and Catalyst versions

Driver Packaging Version 8.951-120308a-135594C-ATI
Catalyst Version 12.3
Provider Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
2D Driver Version 8.01.01.1235
2D Driver File Path /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0002
Direct3D Version 7.14.10.0894
OpenGL Version 6.14.10.11566

Bottom line:
The 6850 did fine alone
The 8670 did better alone
The two cards in crossfire did not increase performance.  They together preform at a lower fps than the 8670 alone.
And, in crossfire, they are not even close to results I've seen for two 8650 in crossfire, which is not what I would've expected.

6850 crossfire test (3Dmark06 @ 1920 x 1200)
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ATI/Radeon_HD_6850_CrossFire/21.html

I'm looking for a performance level that is at least twice that of the 8650 alone.
I understand the faster card will clock down to the slower card.
Should I use the AMD overdrive to speed the 6850 up to match the 6870, and if so,
how much is safe?
Or, is this a Catalyst 12.3 issue?

I have additional specs here:
http://speccy.piriform.com/results/pg0NyWfryscPfqrbLqqqH3w



-------------------------
MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3 AMD 890FX, AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition, Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3, XFX HD-687A-ZHFC Radeon HD 6870, XFX HD-685X-ZNBC Radeon HD 6850 Black Edition, PSU OCZ-ZX850W 80+Gold,
ADITTIONAL SPECS http://speccy.piriform.com/results/pg0NyWfryscPfqrbLqqqH3w

 05/01/2012 08:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 441
Joined: 08/21/2011

"mobo",sorry,i have dumped all my crossfire refs.,& can't recall the site(search "crossfire set up",all i can remember).on amd site(somewhere)there was a page/link with how to.i had 2 x 5770 cards then.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 



Edited: 05/01/2012 at 09:12 AM by goodplay
 05/01/2012 03:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mobo Mojo
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/30/2012

"goodplay" thanks, I've been searching all over the AMD site, using tags like crossfire, set up, and such.  Closest I got was

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/737-20870HowtoInstallYourATIProduct.aspx

Which is good,but still not directly addressing crossfire.

What do you think about using overdrive to better match the card speeds?

I'd like to see what I can get out of these two cards before I consider selling the 6850 for another 6870.



-------------------------
MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3 AMD 890FX, AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition, Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3, XFX HD-687A-ZHFC Radeon HD 6870, XFX HD-685X-ZNBC Radeon HD 6850 Black Edition, PSU OCZ-ZX850W 80+Gold,
ADITTIONAL SPECS http://speccy.piriform.com/results/pg0NyWfryscPfqrbLqqqH3w

 05/01/2012 04:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo_crossfire
Long Time Member

Posts: 7015
Joined: 01/19/2009

is  your  mb bios and chipset drivers upto  date ?   are  both the 6850 + 6870    referance  cards ??   matching  the speeds  with  overdrive  will gain a  bit  , but will  not fix  your  issues  , 

have you  also tried  doing a complete driver   re install  ,  using  driver sweeper in safe mode ?

and  you  can't ecspect  the same resaults  from  the   6870 crossfire  link  you posted  ,  they are using a  much  faster platform  and  3d06  is   heavily  cpu  bound



-------------------------

Rampage II Extreme , 920 @ 4.7 ghz , 12 gig Dominator  2000mhz  , xfx  7970 BE  crossfire   1300/1800  , 60g Vertex 3 raid0 , 120g Vertex 3 raid0 ,wd 2  tb black , xfx 1250 w   , Dell 3007 , x-fi forte , logitech z-5500 , logitech g510/g700

12.8 / 12.7cap3

http://s550.photobucket.com/albums/ii415/steve_hen/steveos%20rig/

 05/01/2012 07:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mobo Mojo
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/30/2012

I'll check for mb bios and chip driver updates.  This rig is an entire year old.  My point is, that if I haven't changed anything, and each card runs fine on their own, why the drop while in crossfire?

I don't know what you mean by referance cards.

Although the test from the link is using a higher platform CPU, I still matched their results in other tests using ethier card by its self.



-------------------------
MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3 AMD 890FX, AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition, Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3, XFX HD-687A-ZHFC Radeon HD 6870, XFX HD-685X-ZNBC Radeon HD 6850 Black Edition, PSU OCZ-ZX850W 80+Gold,
ADITTIONAL SPECS http://speccy.piriform.com/results/pg0NyWfryscPfqrbLqqqH3w

 05/02/2012 06:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 441
Joined: 08/21/2011

-mobo-.i posted a link(early april), CCAP,may be of some use.been thinking(search included the word "guide").also,the "how to" website.finally realised crossfire on my m/b was a waste(so now 6970 single(not o.c.'d(yet?)).sorry i can't be more helpful.   



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 

Statistics
87657 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.