Topic Title: 12.4 driver installs 11.5 version
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/03/2012 09:04 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/03/2012 09:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joepits
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/05/2010

I just noticed this when BF3 started telling me I was using 11.5 driver and the reccomended is at least 11.7.  I was like "wtf". Because I know I just did a fresh install and know I installed the 12.4 catalyst.

 

I have uninstalled, rebooted, and installed again, and it still is saying 11.5.

 

I have clicked check for update, and all that does is download the same 12.4 file and do the same thing.

 

Any tips to force the correct installation?

 05/03/2012 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joepits
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/05/2010

well guess ill use 12.3 for now. that one works fine.

 05/03/2012 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CelticQueen
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/03/2012

Originally posted by: joepits I just noticed this when BF3 started telling me I was using 11.5 driver and the reccomended is at least 11.7.  I was like "wtf". Because I know I just did a fresh install and know I installed the 12.4 catalyst.

 

I have uninstalled, rebooted, and installed again, and it still is saying 11.5.

 

I have clicked check for update, and all that does is download the same 12.4 file and do the same thing.

 

Any tips to force the correct installation?

I went through over 3 hrs installing & uninstalling the latest update only to see that 11.5 version was installed. so I did sytem restore & bk to 12.3

 05/03/2012 02:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mr_Ditters
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 04/28/2012

I ran into this problem last night.  12.4 would only install 12.3.  It only worked after using Atiman to uninstall the 12.3 completely.



-------------------------

i7 920


EVGA 3x SLI mobo


6gb Ocz ram


Corsair 850w PSU


Sapphire 7870 (BSOD machine)

 05/03/2012 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joepits
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/05/2010

thanks mr ditters.  i ran that program and then installed 12.4 and it seems to have installed right.

 06/04/2012 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mktiger
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/04/2012

what is latest version of Atiman??

 i have this same problem when instaled 12.4 (1)still show me 12.3 (2) and suggests upgrade

but AMD Driver Autodetect tell me that i have latest drivers (3)??

screen

http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/9457/atihc.jpg

 06/04/2012 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

Many, many posts with answers to your question. Try the search feature next time.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=428&threadid=159844&enterthread=y

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=428&threadid=159832&enterthread=y

...and please uncheck " AUTOMATICALLY CHECK FOR UPDATES "" in the CCC.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/04/2012 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mktiger
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/04/2012

ok, thx, i used Atiman, long time work but clear everything, after that i instaled latest driver and display me 12.4, it's ok

 06/09/2012 07:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
meow81
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/19/2011

me tooo

hi  i have eax radeon asus ati/amd 4670 1gb and i tried to update driver to 12.4 then i saw that it has installed the 11.10 version wtf and it said also that there were some specified error messages , i tried to clean with driver sweeper but it didn't resolve the problem.

So, what i should to do now to update to latest driver or to latest proper driver for my 4670 ?

please look at this image of catalyst version comparison:

http://postimage.org/image/t3n5v4h77/

so what i must do now?

It is a write error ,how to edit it?

 

the driver is right, you can change those numbers in registry editor:

from whatever value is  to 12.4


Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ATI\ACE\Settings\Graphics\UpdateNotification  
LastUpdateVersion   12.4

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000
Catalyst Version 12.4

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Video\{8953E1D2-B622-42A1-9976-829AFF2D7DCD}\0000
Catalyst Version 12.4

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Video\{8953E1D2-B622-42A1-9976-829AFF2D7DCD}\0001
Catalyst Version 12.4

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000
Catalyst Version 12.4

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8953E1D2-B622-42A1-9976-829AFF2D7DCD}\0000
Catalyst Version 12.4

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8953E1D2-B622-42A1-9976-829AFF2D7DCD}\0001
Catalyst Version 12.4

HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-2749559247-1229249771-1946531036-1001\Software\ATI\ACE\Settings\Graphics\UpdateNotification
LastUpdateVersion   12.4

 

in windows 7 x64 ultimate

 

then restart windows and you will have a full 12.4 working



Edited: 06/10/2012 at 03:48 AM by meow81
 06/11/2012 06:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SUBSAIL21
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/18/2012

Just want to say thanks. I have been using 12.4 for over a month now with 2 main issues:

1. 11.5  would not update to 12.4 no mater what I did.

2. "OVERDRIVE" was missing from Vision Engine Control Center.

With the registry entries that where posted I was able to update CCC to 12.4 and activate and enable Overdrive.



-------------------------
Statistics
84158 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.