Topic Title: HD 5870 Stuck at 400/900MHz.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/03/2012 10:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/03/2012 10:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mjolkspam
n00b

Posts: 11
Joined: 05/03/2012

Hello.  As the title says, stuck at 400/900MHz clocks.

And to give some more info. When i play a game as normal, i got 800/1200MHz clocks as it should be. This is with Firefox in the background, and some other programs.

But as fast as i for example have an Flash (youtube) video open in a tab in Firefox, my clocks will get stuck at odd 400/900MHz. (idle is 157/300MHz). And yes i know i could uncheck Hardware Acceleration in Flash options to fix this problem. But i want to use it. And it not only Flash videos in Firefox that will cause this problem.

If i play a game and open a movie in MPC Home Cinema (using DVXA) it will cause the same problem, get stuck at 400/900MHz.

And for me, this is pretty annoying. As i play in windowed and watch a movie at the same time.

So my questions is:

Why does it only clock to 400/900MHz?

Is there a fix for this?

What can i do so i can use 800/1200MHz clocks without uncheck Hardware Acceleration?

And if there is no fix for this, you should strongly consider fixing this. Cause i realy want to be able to play a game even tho a Youtube video is active in the background with Hardware Acceleration ON.

___________________________________________

Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 ( AMD® 790FX+SB750 )
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition 3,4GHz
RAM: 2x2gb OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 Black Edition
Video Card: HIS ATI Radeon HD5870
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt, Model: OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-500w-700w-modxstream-pro-power-supply.html

Monitor: BenQ G2420HDBL, DVI
Hard drives: 3
Additional PCI cards: Asus Xonar DX Soundcard
Number of fans present: 4

Operating System : Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Video Card Drivers in Use ( and tried ): CCC 12.3 (Have been like this since early 2011).
Motherboard Drivers Used:
Apps/Games causing issues: World of Warcraft, Battlefield 3, more like every game you play. Doesn't matter what game.
All major components check 100% after thorough testing ( eg. Memory & Memtest86 ): Done and Done, nothing wrong.
System clean of viruses / spyware etc: Done and Done.

 05/03/2012 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12249
Joined: 04/17/2008

Because, and you would know this if you did a simple search, Flash and movies kick the GPU into the middle C state which is not full speed. So, let's see, for a fix...Oh yea, don't watch a movie while gaming? Problem solved.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/03/2012 10:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7075
Joined: 11/13/2009

...and enable software rendering.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/04/2012 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mjolkspam
n00b

Posts: 11
Joined: 05/03/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion Because, and you would know this if you did a simple search, Flash and movies kick the GPU into the middle C state which is not full speed. So, let's see, for a fix...Oh yea, don't watch a movie while gaming? Problem solved.

First of all, why be rude? I asked a simple question. And i have searched alot after a real fix for this.

As i rold in my post, i didnt want to turn Hardware Acceleration off.

Why?  Cause that's what i use, and it's the best thing for movies and so over. So please, don't be rude at act like a child. I asked kindly and get an answer like that.

And why should i stop watch movies while playing? Just so my GPU should go on 800/1200MHz clocks?  No.. I should be able to do that anyways.

I didnt get this so i would be limited to half of my gpu speed just cause i got an movie / flash video active at the same time im gaming.

So once again, don't come here and be rude when you answer.

I'll kindly wait for someone more serious answers

 05/04/2012 01:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3505
Joined: 03/01/2009

Your card is not stuck. Its functioning exactly how its suppose to with hardware accelerated flash enabled. 

Its not due to an AMD issue. But a flash issue. It has to do with the way the UVD driver and flash interact. There is no "fix" for it. There is no way to override it either. In fact your actually lucky AMD and Adobe finally agree'd to get along with it,(I think its been about 6 months so far) because in the past. All it would do is cause BSOD after BSOD. Until AMD told adobe politely to fix there coding. 

Now You can actually have hardware accelerated flash on while gaming but until Adobe rewrites there UVD issue's. Its going to stay like it is. And your card will never clock up.

Unless you... disable hardware accelerated flash because there is no point to it(unless you have a crap cpu) while watching a Youtube video. Or a flash based movie.(like netflix) Now if your watching a blue ray and want to enjoy all the nice smoothing and stuff (or dvd). That your hardware provides sure. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 05/04/2012 02:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12249
Joined: 04/17/2008

I wasn't being rude, I was being smartassy because a simple forum search, or even a Google search, would have given you the answer you wanted without you having to go through the hassle of registering on here.

And I take it Van gave you a "more serious answer", since you couldn't look it up yourself in 10 seconds.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/04/2012 02:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 530
Joined: 01/15/2011

Yep it's just your 5870 kicking into the 2D clocks.

When you have a game open, and a movie / flash file, the card gets mixed up on which "profile" to use - 3D (full power) or 2D speeds.

Happens for my two HD 5850's as well.



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 05/04/2012 06:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mjolkspam
n00b

Posts: 11
Joined: 05/03/2012

Originally posted by: Vantharas Your card is not stuck. Its functioning exactly how its suppose to with hardware accelerated flash enabled. 

 

Its not due to an AMD issue. But a flash issue. It has to do with the way the UVD driver and flash interact. There is no "fix" for it. There is no way to override it either. In fact your actually lucky AMD and Adobe finally agree'd to get along with it,(I think its been about 6 months so far) because in the past. All it would do is cause BSOD after BSOD. Until AMD told adobe politely to fix there coding. 

 

Now You can actually have hardware accelerated flash on while gaming but until Adobe rewrites there UVD issue's. Its going to stay like it is. And your card will never clock up.

 

Unless you... disable hardware accelerated flash because there is no point to it(unless you have a crap cpu) while watching a Youtube video. Or a flash based movie.(like netflix) Now if your watching a blue ray and want to enjoy all the nice smoothing and stuff (or dvd). That your hardware provides sure. 

 

Thank you mate. Atleast you could answer my question Lets hope Adobe fix it. Casue imo this sucks pretty hard.

-rascal- thanks: Same to you, a serious answer is allways nice.

black_zion: Yes, i got an more serious answer. And you was rude in your answer. There is no point of saying anything else.

And as i clearly stated in my first post, i didnt want to turn Hardware Acceleration off for movies for example. And yet you say, turn it off or stop watch movies while playing?

Vantharas could atleast give me an nice answer.

Thanks again to the persons that gave me an serious answer

Guess i just have to live with this then. Sad enough.

EDIT* But if that's an flash "problem". Why am i getting the same problem when i watch a HD movie with DXVA (using gpu for movies)?

I thought it was an Flash problem. I guess thats where AMD fails? Correct me if im wrong. Cause that has nothing to do with Flash.

 06/25/2012 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sloots
Member

Posts: 144
Joined: 04/16/2010

 

Erm, NO dude ! A simple forum search would tell you that when you switch to ANY video based item, whether Flash / PowerDVD etc, the card will kick into UVD mode.

A video card can't run in two clock states at a time, and UVD takes preference over 3D speeds .. so you do one task or the other, not both !

As was stated by B_Z and the others .. and a simple 10 second search using the very handy and free forum search engine would have told you that.

Statistics
84305 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.