Topic Title: 12.4 (directX) driverversion charges back to 12.3 after reboot
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/30/2012 08:10 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/30/2012 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crosslee
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/30/2012

the titel says it all. The driver version for directx 11 changes back after i restart my pc when installing 12.4 ccc. 

Let me explain:

I think everyone knows the BF3 bug when you get the message: BF3 does not work  etc. Annoying bug. Occasionally you have it, sometimes not. Is most common in the SP and occasionally in the MP. Anyway ....


Now I wanted to play Deus EX through steam again. Go the game installed and booted it up ..I thought .. but it crashed. Got the same bug as with BF3. When I looked under systeminfo in Steam. It gives al list of the drivers i use, etc. I have the following screenshot of it. 

If you look under Naam stuurprogramma DirectX and Versie stuurprogramma DirectX( its in Dutch) you see the driver name and number. 

Steam now has an AMD update functionAutomatically download the latest amd driver. So I thought .. Let me see if an update is needed .. And to my surpriseYes, there was an update available. I download and installed the update. I updated from 12.3 to 12.4


After installation, I again made a screenshots of the system information contained in Steam:

As you might be able to see.. The name and versionnumber of Direct X has been changed as you would expect.

After the update i rebooted my pc. After the reboot i restarted steam and started Deus EX up. And again the game crashed.

I revisited the systemtab in Steam and saw to my surprice that the name and version number changed back to the state before the update. 

To make a long story short. Everytime i want to play a game like BF or Deus EX, or any game for that matter, i first need to reinstall the 12.4 ccc update, not restart my pc, otherwise the game crashes. Not that a big of a deal but its gets annoying after a couple of days. 

I already removed the ccc software and reinstalled 12.4 on a clean system but with no result. Even changing back to 12.3 on a clean system wouldn't work.

Does anyone came across the same problem and has a solution?

 

 

 



Edited: 05/30/2012 at 05:13 PM by crosslee
 05/30/2012 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Remove the drivers using a driver sweeper and then reinstall catalyst 12.4, if they still give issues, dont use them! I'm still on 12.1 with no issues.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 05/30/2012 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7811
Joined: 11/13/2009

If you will look at similar posts, you will see that this is just a typo error. You do have the 12.4 drivers. Turn off 'check for updates' in CCC. Check your version here: http://developer.amd.com/download/ccc/Pages/default.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/30/2012 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crosslee
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/30/2012

Originally posted by: stumped If you will look at similar posts, you will see that this is just a typo error. You do have the 12.4 drivers. Turn off 'check for updates' in CCC. Check your version here: http://developer.amd.com/download/ccc/Pages/default.aspx

 

I know the posts you are revering to. I read them.  But this doenst have anything to do with a typo from AMD. If you have read my post, you see that, installing the 12.4 update works, prefenting the game from crashing. Just running everything great. After i reboot my pc, the update is still there but some of the driverssoftware has been changed back to the version before the update.

Naam of the direcX driver: aticfx64.dll updated to aticfx32.dll and after restarting windows it changes back to aticfx64.dll

Same thing happens to  the directX versionnumber. Before: 7.14.10.304, after update: 8.17.10.1124. After restarting Windows is changes back to 7.14.10.304. 

 05/30/2012 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7811
Joined: 11/13/2009

When you say 'clean install'...what do you mean? Did you run Driver Sweeper before installing the new drivers? Are you running Win 7? Did you check the driver software versions in CCC with the link I posted? I use the 12.5 beta, have you tried that? If not, the 12.5 whql will be released in a day or two. BTW...don't use driver updates from Steam or Microsoft update.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/30/2012 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crosslee
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/30/2012

yea i got a tutorial of how to remove all the driversoftware with driver sweaper. Then i reinstalled the holl thing with the same result. Only now i didnt use the steam AMD function but downloaded the software from the amd site itself. But nothings changed. The problem remains the same. Hoping the 12.5 will do the trick. If not.. mayby a format and reinstall of all the software incl win7 will work..

 

 06/04/2012 06:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crosslee
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/30/2012

i tried the 12.6 beta with no positief result. So no i reinstalled my pc. Reinstalled windows. all the drivers etc. Hoping this will work.

 06/13/2012 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crosslee
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/30/2012

i found the root of the problem. 

A small program called Asus SmartDocter was causing the shifting in driverversions. I uninstalled the program and everything is runing as it should be at 12.4 ccc

 06/21/2012 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FOX_11_GUY
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/21/2012

12.4 had been really buggy for me so I've reverted to 12.3 with no issues. 

Statistics
88737 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.