Topic Title: AMD Vision Engine Control Center missing from right click menu
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/07/2012 04:52 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/07/2012 04:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psytropic
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 06/07/2009

W7 x64 12.6 beta and 12.3 Cats

Radeon 5850

Desktop -> Right Click -> on the top of this menu there used to be an icon to launch the VCC.  It's gone.  VCC still works if I launch it from the tray.

I was running 12.4, so horrible, I uninstalled from Programs and features and installed 12.3.  The icon/link was gone.  Installed 12.6 over 12.3 and it's still gone.  Did a driver sweep and went right to 12.6 and still no right click menu.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.6Ghz / ASUS M4A79XTD Evo / Samsung 4GB x 2 PC2 12800 / Antec HCG 620W



Edited: 06/19/2012 at 02:37 PM by psytropic
 06/07/2012 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psytropic
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 06/07/2009

I just wanted to add I did try Phxyions Driver Sweeper and still no go.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.6Ghz / ASUS M4A79XTD Evo / Samsung 4GB x 2 PC2 12800 / Antec HCG 620W



Edited: 06/19/2012 at 02:26 PM by psytropic
 06/19/2012 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psytropic
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 06/07/2009

Updated Vdieo Card info.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.6Ghz / ASUS M4A79XTD Evo / Samsung 4GB x 2 PC2 12800 / Antec HCG 620W



Edited: 06/19/2012 at 02:37 PM by psytropic
 06/19/2012 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7079
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=437&threadid=159049&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/19/2012 06:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sloots
Member

Posts: 144
Joined: 04/16/2010

Originally posted by: psytropic

I just wanted to add I did try Phxyions Driver Sweeper ..

 

Which has obviously removed the context menu stuff needed for it to show up there and removed whatever Windows and the driver installer needs to put it there !

Those utilities are a pain in the arse and should ONLY be used under guidance if unsure about what they can and do remove.

A bit of creative GOOGLING will put you on the right track to registry hack context menu enabling.

 06/19/2012 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psytropic
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 06/07/2009

I think you misunderstood, I ran the sweeper because I went from 12.4 to 12.3.  Anything the sweeper removes should be restored by a fresh install of the Cats again.  I even had to reinstall my chipset drivers for the usb filter.

 

And I did Google, the only thing I found was how to remove it, not add it again.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.6Ghz / ASUS M4A79XTD Evo / Samsung 4GB x 2 PC2 12800 / Antec HCG 620W

 06/19/2012 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sloots
Member

Posts: 144
Joined: 04/16/2010

 

No, no, I understood the post, my English is 100% fluent thanks.

You misunderstood me, you can ENABLE the context menu for apps etc via a registry hack, NOT anything to do with removing it.

Nope, not true, if the sweeper removes critical core files as needed by Windows for certain things ( this is a prime example ), then no amount of installing drivers for a zillion times will re-enable it if it's fundamentally missing. That's why I said people shouldn't just "use" these types of sweepers / reg-sweepers etc, as they can and do remove things critical to the o/s if used indiscriminately.

 06/19/2012 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psytropic
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 06/07/2009

Ok well let's back up for a second.  The VCC right click menu was missing BEFORE I did the driver sweeper.  It went missing when I tried to revert from 12.4 to 12.3.  That is what prompted me to run the sweeper in the first place, as I never use it.  

This is the first time on this machine I have had to go to a previous driver version, and eveything on this forum says to sweep before downgrading, but is not necessary for upgrading the drivers.

When I ran driver sweeper afterwards I made sure to only select ATI / AMD drivers and meticulously went down the list of items it wanted to delete.

So either way let's forget about the driver sweeper as that was not the cause.  And a google link to them re-adding the context menu would be nice, as again I can only find people trying to remove the key.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.6Ghz / ASUS M4A79XTD Evo / Samsung 4GB x 2 PC2 12800 / Antec HCG 620W

 06/19/2012 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sloots
Member

Posts: 144
Joined: 04/16/2010

 

Context menu stuff :

re-adding the context menu

Statistics
84320 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.