Topic Title: 6870 Crossfire "SOLVED"
Topic Summary: FPS Drops while playing BF3
Created On: 07/04/2012 01:25 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/04/2012 01:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
7yphon
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/04/2012

Hey everyone

I have a issue while playing BF3 in Crossfire, The cards seem to be getting a FPS drop while playing the game this doesnt matter what settings I have it, It could be on the lowest settings and still get a massave drop.

On Auto it goes from 100+FPS and drops to 1-0FPS for a few MS

Setup is Intel i7 920, 3GB Ram 1GBx3 Running on a Classified MB.
PSU is a Corsair 650 HX 80+ Cert

I have tried the 12.6 and the 12.7 Drivers but still get the same issue.

Both cards run perfectly on there own and will run the game happy on Ultra settings with it getting around 55+ FPS

Does anybody have a working setup and can point me into the right Direction??? 



-------------------------
Main rig:
Intel i5 760 2.8ghz, 16GB DDR3 Ram, GA-P55-USB3, Kingston SSD"windows" 6 other misc HDD, two AMD 7770 and Corsair 1k PSU
Second Rig:
Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz, 3GBRam DDR3, Classified Mainbord, Two 6870 in crossfire

Edited: 07/04/2012 at 05:29 AM by 7yphon
 07/04/2012 02:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo_crossfire
Long Time Member

Posts: 7015
Joined: 01/19/2009

 what drivers and  caps are you using ? is bf3  the only  game that you have issues with ?    3  gig's  of ram   could  be your issue     when i play bf3 , my  rig uses just over 5 gig's of system mem

ram is  cheap   you  should have at least 6 gig's



-------------------------

Rampage II Extreme , 920 @ 4.7 ghz , 12 gig Dominator  2000mhz  , xfx  7970 BE  crossfire   1300/1800  , 60g Vertex 3 raid0 , 120g Vertex 3 raid0 ,wd 2  tb black , xfx 1250 w   , Dell 3007 , x-fi forte , logitech z-5500 , logitech g510/g700

12.8 / 12.7cap3

http://s550.photobucket.com/albums/ii415/steve_hen/steveos%20rig/

 07/04/2012 05:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
7yphon
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/04/2012

Drivers and caps right now are from what you get from 12.7, BF3 is the only game I was playing on the machine as thats the one I wanted to make sure was running with the setup, I have now installed another 4GB 2x2 into the machine bringing the machine up to 7GB, wasnt what I wanted to do as it might upset the whole 3 channel but ill give it a shot and let you know.

I have also installed Diablo 3 and running with crossfire with the 7GB can't tell you the FPS results as it keeps saying it's 0 FPS so I don't know if it's broke or not



-------------------------
Main rig:
Intel i5 760 2.8ghz, 16GB DDR3 Ram, GA-P55-USB3, Kingston SSD"windows" 6 other misc HDD, two AMD 7770 and Corsair 1k PSU
Second Rig:
Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz, 3GBRam DDR3, Classified Mainbord, Two 6870 in crossfire
 07/04/2012 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
7yphon
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/04/2012

Hey sorry about the waste of time, Your are right RAM makes or breaks Crossfire

system runs perfectly on 7GB of ram drops to around 60FPS when im in the heat of a battle but most the time it's over 100FPS 



-------------------------
Main rig:
Intel i5 760 2.8ghz, 16GB DDR3 Ram, GA-P55-USB3, Kingston SSD"windows" 6 other misc HDD, two AMD 7770 and Corsair 1k PSU
Second Rig:
Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz, 3GBRam DDR3, Classified Mainbord, Two 6870 in crossfire
Statistics
84324 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.