Topic Title: HD7970 Dual Monitor Lag
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/18/2012 03:26 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/18/2012 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DNexto
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/18/2012

Hello guys,

My bro bought me a HD7970 as present and I am using a dual monitors.

The problem is when I have any kind of game/application running at fullscreen  on the primary monitor then the second monitor is running at 1 frame per second. So everything on the 2nd monitor becomes 1fps which includes videos, youtube, music players.

I am using Win 8 release preview 64bit.

Driver downloaded by auto detect tool from radeon support site.

Any suggestions?

Thank you

 07/18/2012 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1395
Joined: 07/13/2009

I have no such issues with two monitors using a 7970, though playing a video that uses GPU acceleration will slow down the fullscreen game.

That's with Windows 7, though, so my only suggestion is don't use Windows 8.  That'd be my suggestion regardless of your issue, of course, given what I've seen about 8.

 

 07/18/2012 08:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DNexto
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/18/2012

I had the same problem with Windows 7 where the 2nd monitor had very low fps. I didn't think Win 8 would have the same issue but I was wrong.

 07/18/2012 08:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Uninstall current drivers..

Download and install this one:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/Windows8ConsumerPreviewDrivers.aspx

I used Windows 8 Release Preview with 2 screens, and those drivers fixed my issue, not related to yours, but another one..

Please, don't update drivers from "aout" features, including Windows, and do it only from your hardware manufacturer's website..

 

Best regards..



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 07/19/2012 08:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Still I don't understand why people use Windows 8 as their primary OS, it is an unfinished product which should be tested on a virtual machine or as a multiboot selection. + wasn't Win8 primarily meant for portable computers like tabs and laptops? Desktop systems should stay on Windows 7.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 07/19/2012 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Originally posted by: zipsi Still I don't understand why people use Windows 8 as their primary OS, it is an unfinished product which should be tested on a virtual machine or as a multiboot selection. + wasn't Win8 primarily meant for portable computers like tabs and laptops? Desktop systems should stay on Windows 7.

 

 

I did installed it on a second partition as a second OS to see how it is..

And for me, is upper cr4p.. Seriously..

The worst OS since the Millenium and (from my point of view) Vista fiascos.. Agreed with you: it MUST NOT set as a primary OS..

Best regards..



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 07/19/2012 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Here is a interesting story....Win8 and multiple monitors

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2406969,00.asp?kc=PCRSS03129TX1K0000625&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+ziffdavis%2FPCMagazineTips+%28PCMag.com+Tips+and+Solutions%29&utm_content=My+MSN



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
85338 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.