Topic Title: Ubuntu Update Last Night, Catalyst Version 12.6
Topic Summary: Multi-Desktop Broken Now
Created On: 07/24/2012 04:05 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/24/2012 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
michaeljwjr
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/24/2012

Last night I ran updates from the software center, and I noticed on my driver this morning that I now see somethign about the display edges when I start up AMD Admin. When I try to set up my multi desktop, they both appear to be disabled, and when i can enable them they are 2 and 3, instead of 1 and 2.

 

catalyst version 12.6

driver version 8.90-120611a-141410C-ATI

2d driver version 8.98.2

catalyst control center version 2.15

randr version 1.3

 

 07/24/2012 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7094
Joined: 11/13/2009

Go back to the drivers you had previously. Why did you update them anyhow? As you can read, this is a gaming forum and 99.99% of gaming is done on mainstream OS's. you need to look at Ubutu forums or go and post here :  http://forums.amd.com/forum/categories.cfm?catid=310&zb=2556093



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 07/24/2012 at 04:42 PM by stumped
 07/24/2012 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

Aye, I would suggest asking in a Linux forum like Phoronix http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=home

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/24/2012 11:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
michaeljwjr
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/24/2012

AMD officially supports Linux. And so if they release a driver that messes up this is the place to post about it, also game performance in native games. 

But thanks. 

 07/25/2012 12:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

If you would have read, you would know that this is a USER TO USER forum, and most users here do not use Linux as a gaming platform, so no, this is NOT the place to post about it

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/25/2012 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHH
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/25/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion If you would have read, you would know that this is a USER TO USER forum, and most users here do not use Linux as a gaming platform, so no, this is NOT the place to post about it

 

It says Official AMD Support » Catalyst

but not the place to post about Catalyst problem?

 

 

 07/25/2012 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7094
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: JHH
Originally posted by: black_zion If you would have read, you would know that this is a USER TO USER forum, and most users here do not use Linux as a gaming platform, so no, this is NOT the place to post about it

 

It says Official AMD Support » Catalyst

 

but not the place to post about Catalyst problem?

 

Follow this link and look for "AMD Issue Reporting Form"  http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

As to this being an 'official'' AMD forum I can't blame you for being confused. If you were a frequent visitor to this forum, you would have known that this site has had BIG problems over the last month.....couldn't even sign in. Now this new format with the heading "Official" in it appears...with 3/4 of the forum index's missing. No one knows what really is going on..the two most popular guesses are 1. The site was completely hijacked, or 2. AMD finally decided to upgrade the site and hired a stupid that doesn't know what he is doing to "design" it. Either way it is a piece of ***** that reflects badly on the company....at a time it doesn't really need anymore attention placed on it. This is a peer-to-peer forum...and has always been one. AMD does NOT and never has monitored it. Any advice you recieve here is from knowledgeable users. None are paid or employed by AMD.

 

 

 

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/25/2012 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHH
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/25/2012

Thanks for that comprehensive answer

Lets hope they sort these problems soon.

Statistics
84348 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.