Topic Title: Eyefinity + 7970 = tearing..?
Topic Summary: Games, YouTube, or movies..
Created On: 04/16/2013 08:46 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/16/2013 08:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BatCat
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 04/15/2013

(I posted this elsewhere, proll'y in the wrong spot.)

 

Just got my new 7970 Ghz  (ooOooH!) but am getting horible tearing everywhere! (AAaaw!)

Games, desktop even. Simple YouTube vid on desktop tears, windowed or FS. Most distracting. In Bioshock Infinity can't get my eyes off it. Smack in the middle on middle monitor! Upper 1/4 on right monitor. (BTW; Who do I thank for BI key? Thanx!!) Absolutely can not watch vid's, shows, or movies. Windowed or FS. I got one simple game I can tolerate it, but the new Bioshock (optimized for AMD) ..no freeking way. Anything needing muscle from the 7970, nope.

Even dragging Firefox around I can see it.. sheeesh.

Connector order, l to r.

DP>active>DVI, DVI, DVI

All monitors Asus vw266 @ 1920x1200. ccc13.1

 

New smaller Active adapter way faster screen changes vs the older bricks. Connector layout on card is exact same as my 5870's which just rocked BTW, except I got the 1gig versions.

Tried fiddling with v-sync to no avail. That would not help desktop. Its like digital vertical blanking in the wrong place. (is there such a thing?)

 

Most distressing. \/\/hat gives??

Any hints as to whats up?

 

Been gaming from the beginning, c64 to DooM with IP adress's (uhg), and system builder all along. I know my way around these things pretty good.  Current system is near 3yrs old..!



-------------------------

Phenom ][ 965, Gigabyte 790fx ud5, Saphire AMD 7970 Ghz, 4gig OCZ 1066, Eyefinity 3x ASUS vw266 (1920x1200x3), OCZ Vertex boot, assorted others.  Asus Xonar DSX > 5.1 ~700w Sony  :)



Edited: 04/16/2013 at 08:52 PM by BatCat
 04/21/2013 03:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BatCat
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 04/15/2013

\/\/hat? Nothing.. No hints, clues or anything?

Elsewhere suggested HDMI audio as possiblity, I don't use it. I disabled it all. Tearing seems to be confined to Left monitor(of 3) on the DP output.

Pressent on desktop, noticable with videos, and 3d gaming.

More testing needed but some relief.

 

If it is related to HDMI audio you guys do have a problem and not a little one.



-------------------------

Phenom ][ 965, Gigabyte 790fx ud5, Saphire AMD 7970 Ghz, 4gig OCZ 1066, Eyefinity 3x ASUS vw266 (1920x1200x3), OCZ Vertex boot, assorted others.  Asus Xonar DSX > 5.1 ~700w Sony  :)

 04/21/2013 07:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dr. Zhivago
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 04/18/2013

2 Questions: What brand of DP>DVI adapter are you using? Does it have the latest firmware?



-------------------------

I run an All-AMD Household: Main PC - Gigabyte GA-970A-D3 - AMD FX-6300 BE - 8GB DDR3-1600 - HD6870 - 2x WD 500GB Blue - WD 1TB Black - 2x LG DVDRW - Xonar DG - CM 500W PSU - Antec 900 - Logitech G5 - Logitech USB Media KB - AOC 23" LCD -  Creative Inspire 2.1 - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit - Other Machines: PII X2 255 BE (4 Cores) + HD6870, 3x PII X6 1100T BE +  HD6870, HTPC AthlonII X4 630 + HD6450

 04/23/2013 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BatCat
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 04/15/2013

Hard to see for me, this is what is looks like;

 Accell Rev A4-3.0

That "looks" fairly evolved. No idea where I'd check that but will snoop.

And would not account for two other screens I don't think.

Still have tearing in game.

 

Edit; found it on thier site, is current, up to date.

 



-------------------------

Phenom ][ 965, Gigabyte 790fx ud5, Saphire AMD 7970 Ghz, 4gig OCZ 1066, Eyefinity 3x ASUS vw266 (1920x1200x3), OCZ Vertex boot, assorted others.  Asus Xonar DSX > 5.1 ~700w Sony  :)



Edited: 04/23/2013 at 09:06 AM by BatCat
 04/23/2013 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

I used to have one from XFX until it started to shut me down the screen attached to it..

So, I got one from HIS, which is my current adapter.

About your question regarding firmwares used by this kind of adapters, trust me, is the first time I hear of it. I don't think an active adapter need a firmware to work. But, if I'm mistaken, then another guys could clear this up..

 

Best regard...



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 04/25/2013 06:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BatCat
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 04/15/2013

(sheesh, getting to dis like this msg editor. Cool, it sepparate but nee to be so fixed/small?)

 

The firmware was an issue with the first gen' active adapters. Multi labeled, but all from same Accell. (Dell, Saphire ..etc) And it need "good" power from USB, choking with odd/differant problems if not enough. A real pain to trouble shoot.

I got a little lucky as Gigabyte (MB) has had "always on" and "extra" power on USB port for long time. Mine has worked  and has been "always on" for near 3 years now. Screen rez' changes are a little slow with it.

The new "inline" small ones are way faster and self power from DP.

As a side thought now, maybe will try switching back to it for tearing test.

 

Minor up date; tearing confined to desktop on DP now that HDMI all gone and disabled (13.1). Still have tearing in game.. Updated to 13.4 drivers too. (what happened to .2 and .3 drivers?)

Grrr..



-------------------------

Phenom ][ 965, Gigabyte 790fx ud5, Saphire AMD 7970 Ghz, 4gig OCZ 1066, Eyefinity 3x ASUS vw266 (1920x1200x3), OCZ Vertex boot, assorted others.  Asus Xonar DSX > 5.1 ~700w Sony  :)

 05/13/2013 03:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
osterac
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/09/2009

I've heard of people having tearing on cloned displays and changing the pixel format to 4:2:2 fixed it for them. Don't know if this applies to your problem.

 05/18/2013 09:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
astarothcy
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 04/18/2013

Originally posted by: osterac I've heard of people having tearing on cloned displays and changing the pixel format to 4:2:2 fixed it for them. Don't know if this applies to your problem.

 

 

 

I have the same issue as OP. I tried this and it didn't fix the tearing issue. However, I was only able to change the pixel format on the display that isn't actually showing any tearing; the display I'm having trouble with doesn't even show up in that particular screen of the Catalyst panel so I'm unable to change its pixel format.

 

Edit: I just noticed that if I coax the driver into changing which monitor it considers as "primary" by disabling one or the other, the tearing actually switches between monitors! I can pretty reproducibly move the tear from one monitor to the other. This is clearly not a monitor issue then, or a port issue (one monitor is HDMI, the other is through an HDMI cable into a DVI adapter into DVI on the card), it's either a card or a driver issue. At this point I'm not sure whether to RMA or not, because I really think that when I get a replacement it will have the exact same issue. It's a design fault.



Edited: 05/19/2013 at 01:39 AM by astarothcy
 06/30/2013 04:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BatCat
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 04/15/2013

(This msg editor freaks me out every time.)

A bit of an update;

Abuddy came over and help me jiggle monitors around. Took out the Samsung which is also a TV and 16:10 monitor, its very nice, which was on the DP and with the current tearing.

Swapped it out for 3rd ASUS vw266, well not exactly. Moved center to left position and unboxed 3rd to the center.

So, 3 monitors the same, jiggled connections.. Still tearing on DP(left) if center = DVI and default.

So, same tearing, but I got the TV away from the computer.

(BTW; the ASUS monitors are the Samsung panels and why I had the TV version. Now its for TV or guest system.)

Minor update with no change. Oh, and the old BizLink/Accell adapter did excatly the same thing. So tears on DP if either DVI are default.



-------------------------

Phenom ][ 965, Gigabyte 790fx ud5, Saphire AMD 7970 Ghz, 4gig OCZ 1066, Eyefinity 3x ASUS vw266 (1920x1200x3), OCZ Vertex boot, assorted others.  Asus Xonar DSX > 5.1 ~700w Sony  :)

 06/30/2013 04:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BatCat
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 04/15/2013

oh, please!

Directions on where to try the 4:2:2 pixel rate..? I don't recal ever see'n this?



-------------------------

Phenom ][ 965, Gigabyte 790fx ud5, Saphire AMD 7970 Ghz, 4gig OCZ 1066, Eyefinity 3x ASUS vw266 (1920x1200x3), OCZ Vertex boot, assorted others.  Asus Xonar DSX > 5.1 ~700w Sony  :)

 07/07/2013 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BatCat
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 04/15/2013

nudge..

 



-------------------------

Phenom ][ 965, Gigabyte 790fx ud5, Saphire AMD 7970 Ghz, 4gig OCZ 1066, Eyefinity 3x ASUS vw266 (1920x1200x3), OCZ Vertex boot, assorted others.  Asus Xonar DSX > 5.1 ~700w Sony  :)

Statistics
84320 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.