Topic Title: 9 monitors in AMD Eyefinity
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/07/2013 07:24 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/07/2013 07:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aternix
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/07/2013

Is it possible to connect the 9 monitors in AMD Eyefinity in landscape mode with the extension 12294x768 using 2 AMD Eyefinity graphics card with 6 mini-DP on each of them and a mini-DP-hdmi cable?

Also need a different mode - clone 9 monitors.

In Nvidia graphics cards is not possible. So clone 3 + 3 + 3, and 9 are not the same.

 08/07/2013 07:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DJ PANFA
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/07/2013

Hi! I think Maybe you can use some MST hub, ATI got one called CLUB MST Hub. and u got alots of others options- for the Clone mode option. In landscape mode 9 monitors like 1 screen... not think has any videocard to do that

 

Good luck!

 08/08/2013 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Monitors that are part of an Eyefinity Group must be connected to the same graphics card.  The most you will get without the use of an MST Hub (as described by DJ PANFA) is a six-display Eyefinity Group.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 08/08/2013 02:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aternix
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/07/2013

DJ PANFA,
Marc@AMD

thanks for the reply and help

ok, if for example, I take this video card http://www.msi.com/product/vga/R7970-Lightning.html + 3 MST hub?


1. 9 monitors will work in clone mode?
2. Make one screen 12294x768 of 9 monitors in landscape mode is possible in this case?
as it comes with 6 EYEFINITY.



Edited: 08/08/2013 at 02:31 PM by aternix
 08/09/2013 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kent@AMD
Grinding Levels

Posts: 127
Joined: 01/10/2013

The Radeon GPUs are capped at 6 signals, regardless of how many are actually connected to it (through MST hubs, splitters, etc.) Because of that, you can have 9 monitors connected to that single card with the MST hub, but Catalyst and Windows will only let you have 6 enabled at one time. The other three will be recognized, but cannot be enabled without disabling one of the other monitors first. Sadly, it's a limitation of the GPU itself, where 6 active signals per GPU is the maximum.

 

On the "unsupported configuration" side, there are HDMI splitters that take one HDMI signal and split it to two monitors. This only clones the original signal, it's definitely not supported by AMD, and the splitters tend to be incredibly finicky and tempermental, but it could work if you intend to duplicate monitors. It definitely wouldn't allow Eyefinity over 9 monitors though.



-------------------------
AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.
Statistics
86368 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.