Topic Title: Can't get 3 Displays runnig the same time with HD6870
Topic Summary: WinXP: LG Monitor / Lenovo Monitor / LG HD TV
Created On: 08/14/2013 02:11 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/14/2013 02:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnSnyder
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/14/2013

Hello,

I use this set up (on WinXP Pro):

Graphic Card: XFX Radeon HD6870 (inputs: 2xDVI 1xHDMI 2xminiDP)

 

Monitor 1 (LG W2343T): linked via DVI to an active Mini DP to Single-Link DVI Adapter Adapter -> HD6870

http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B004VVMNZ4/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

Monitor 2 (Lenovo ThinkVision): linked with VGA to an passive DVI adaper -> HD6870

 

Monitor 3 (LG HD TV): linked with a HDMI cable -> HD6870

 

So, the problem is I can activate only 2 Displays at a time. I can switch betwenn them in the Catalyst Control Center by pulling them in and out but I am not able to activate all 3 at the sam time. One stays always grey:

 

I bought this Saphire active adapter as I read that this necessary to use Eyefinity. Now I'm kinda confused.

Is maybe my Monitor 2, the lenovo with VGA cable linked to an DVI adapter and then to the HD6870 the problem? (as VGA is analog)

this monitor has also an DP-Port, would an DP to mini DP cable solve this problem? like this one:

http://www.ebay.de/itm/1-5m-Dispayport-auf-Mini-Displayport-Anschlusskabel-Weis-vergoldet-Kabel-/271052123509?pt=DE_Computing_Monitor_AV_Kabel_Adapter&hash=item3f1bf72d75

 

thank you

 

 



Edited: 08/14/2013 at 02:26 PM by JohnSnyder
 08/14/2013 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark@AMD
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/16/2013

Unfortunately, Windows XP have a limitation where only 2 displays can be activated. You will need to use Windows Vista/7/8 in order to get all 3 displays up.



-------------------------



AMD Customer Care



The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 08/14/2013 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnSnyder
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/14/2013

as I wanted to upgrade to win7 for a while now (but was too lazy) I guess I have to speed it up.

Thanks anyway for the fast response

Statistics
86413 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.