Topic Title: AX6950 Eyefinity with a DVI and 2 VGA monitors
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/16/2013 09:56 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/16/2013 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psjoholm
Peon

Hello everyone,

I am new to Eyefinity and just acquired an AX6950. My old PC had 2 cards, with a total of 4 DVI outs, so connecting a DVI and 2 VGA monitors was a breeze with 2 DVI to VGA adapters. 

I now want to connect my old monitors to the new card, but I am little lost on the adapter I need.

I am trying to see if the following configuration will work, before I go ahead and order the adapter.

1. Connect DVI monitor to DVI out
  2. Connect VGA monitor to DVI out with a DVI to VGA adapter
  3. Connect VGA monitor to mini DP out, with an active mini DP to DVI adapter, and a DVI to VGA adapter
The reason I want to do it this way, instead of buying an active mini DP to VGA adapter, is because I know I am going to order 3 new monitors soon and want to ensure I can reuse the adapter I buy with the new monitors. 
Also, I am not a gamer, I simply do a ton of multitasking because I work from home. So, having 3 monitors active is a must for my productivity. I just need to be able to have different things running on each monitor, I will never use the 3 monitors to run a game in 3 screen mode.
Please help

09/18/2013 01:37 PM

Author Icon
Kent@AMD
Grinding Levels

For 3 monitors to be enabled at once, you'll have to have 1 active connection out of the 3. The only issue with that configuration is that DP-to-DVI adapters are DVI-D, so they lack the physical components to convert from DVI to VGA. Because of that, you won't be able to use that configuration. You can do this, however:

DVI-to-VGA
DVI-to-VGA
DisplayPort-to-DVI active to DVI cable to DVI monitor