Topic Title: XFX 280x Eyefinity Issue- Unable to use 3 monitors
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/13/2013 10:48 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/13/2013 10:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Treads4heads
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/13/2013

Like other users have mentioned, I am also having 3 monitors active in any configuration with my 280x.

 

I have tried the following combinations

1xDVI 1xDVI 1xHDMI

1xDVI 1xDVI 1xMini-DP to DVI

1xDVI 1xHDMI 1xMini-DP to DVI

All resulting in the same issue: The card is able to recognize that they have 3 monitors, but will only allow two active at any given time. These monitors are not the same size.

I have heard that it could be possible that the old drivers may work, but I am unable to find them. So far neither 13.11 or 13.10 have worked to resolve this issue.

 

Any input from anyone would be appreciate. Hopefully AMD will hear our cries!

 12/13/2013 10:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Sprite Maker

Posts: 3496
Joined: 03/01/2009

are your mini displayport adapters active or not?



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 12/14/2013 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Treads4heads
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/13/2013

It is one of these:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=104&cp_id=10428&cs_id=1042802&p_id=9425&seq=1&format=2

 

Which should not matter, as according to the AMD website

http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/r9/Pages/amd-radeon-hd-r9-series.aspx#5

The R9 280x should be able to run 3 monitors just from DVI/HDMI

 01/08/2014 11:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mikeakajb
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/28/2013

I use the same active adapter.

 

Try the following combo if possible since this is what I had to do to get them to work

 

1 mini display port to dvi

dvi

dvi

hdmi into whatever for a second input on the monitor.

 

Basically double up on one of the monitors. My setup looks like the following

1 x active mini displayport to dvi --- Dvi to hdmi passive cable

1 x active mini displayport to dvi --- Dvi to hdmi passive cable

dvi - hdmi passive cable

hdmi cable to a second input on one of the monitors

For whatever reason this is the only setup I got eyefinity to work after the latest catalyst stuff and allows me to select just 3x1 portrait.

Statistics
81036 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.