Topic Title: Can't adjust bezel in 3x1 portrait?
Topic Summary: Warning: your display configuration has changed.
Created On: 05/30/2014 07:21 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/30/2014 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Luke.Seymour
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/30/2014

I was running in 3x1 landscape mode and everything was working fine; I had no trouble adjusting the bezel.  A few days ago, I mounted my monitors in a 3x1 portrait setup and created an eyefinity group, but now when I try to adjust the bezel, the screen blinks and catalyst shows "Completed: bezel compensation of an AMD Eyefinity display group," then blinks again after half a second and shows "Warning: your display configuration has changed. [etc...]."

This all happens over about 2 seconds, and I'm never given the opportunity to adjust the bezel.

I have tried with the 14.20 driver, then after updating to the 14.6 beta, and a third time after completely uninstalling catalyst and reinstalling the 14.6 beta fresh.

 05/30/2014 07:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Luke.Seymour
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/30/2014

I just tried reconfiguring the monitors as 3x1 Landscape and was able to adjust the bezel.

So this is only happening in 3x1 portrait mode.

 05/31/2014 12:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maxinfo
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/31/2014

I have this exact same issue. When I click on Bezel Correction the screens go black and I hear the hardware disconnect tone. Once it comes back I get the message listed above. The only thing that shows up in Event Viewer is:

Event Type: Display
Event ID: 4107
Event Level:4
Event Description: A caller specified the SDC_FORCE_MODE_ENUMERATION flag in a call to the SetDisplayConfig() API

Windows 8.1 Pro
Dual R9 290
3 x 24" Dell U2412m in Portrait
 06/13/2014 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klepp0906
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 05/07/2014

Originally posted by: maxinfo I have this exact same issue. When I click on Bezel Correction the screens go black and I hear the hardware disconnect tone. Once it comes back I get the message listed above. The only thing that shows up in Event Viewer is:

 

Event Type: Display Event ID: 4107 Event Level:4 Event Description: A caller specified the SDC_FORCE_MODE_ENUMERATION flag in a call to the SetDisplayConfig() API

 

Windows 8.1 Pro
Dual R9 290
3 x 24" Dell U2412m in Portrait

 

same problem to a T.  Same monitors.  Enterprise 8.1 x64 - 3x r9 290x - portrait mode as well.  Landscape isnt possible due to room nor woudl i want to use them that way anyhow.

I simply cant win when it comes to multi monitor gaming   Ive been on a year long endeavor ofhell with my nvidia rig which spurned me to go amd with this one and surprise surprise lol...

 06/28/2014 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
iamlanvin
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/25/2014

I also have this problem on 14.6 RC2, using 3x1 monitors on portrait mode.

This mode works on 14.4.

Please fix this, there are a handful of us having this trouble.

 07/09/2014 07:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klepp0906
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 05/07/2014

GAH I was hoping this was fixed in RC2.  Naturally (just like nvidia apparently) they don't pay attention to the forums as this isn't even mentioned in the "known issues" section.

makes one wonder how much testing they "don't" do before letting drivers rip.  I mean seriously. Nowadays multi gpu solutions aren't really necessary if you aren't using surround and if you are using surround, who wants to use it without bezel correction?

one would think this would be one of the first things checked when making sure the drivers are surround/SLI etc ready.

sigh.  Guess we can "hope" to have it working in a few months for the next release.  I regretted going surround with nvidia and swapped to amd to make them look bad and make myself feel better.  Course the jokes on me.  Seems 10 years simply isn't enough time to get it right. 

Next PC will certainly be single display, hopefully a monster 32" 8k 120hz IPS panel

 07/29/2014 06:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klepp0906
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 05/07/2014

your telling me theirs not a single moderator here who reads this stuff that can pass it on?  And that AMD, a multi billion dollar enterprise - doesnt do enough Quality control testing to realize a MAJOR feature doesnt make it in to release? 


Im struggling to believe we are the only 3 people in the world experiencing this ....

 

Anyhow, what has spurned my return w/ a vengeance .. is the fact I just downloaded 14.7 which I was pretty excited about under the assumption this would be fixed.

 

Guess what?  ... yea...exactly..

 07/29/2014 06:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klepp0906
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 05/07/2014

oh, almost forgot.  Where can i go to post and ENSURE amd is made aware of this?  I dont really intend to use my brand new build in a way which i dont prefer because of their software bugs.

Thats why i built this rig to begin with.  I have an amazing quad titan'ey rig that was built for ffxiv but due to nvidia's craptastic software support and even craptastic'er customer service support... I was unable to even use them all in ffxiv (the game i built it for to begin with).  

Of course upon finishing my backup rig (this tri amd one) I found that the problem that plagued me there was no more.  However in this case i cant run bezel compensation which drives me nuts to be polite.  

I basically have to pick my poison which is pretty darn disappointing since both these companies have been touting these technologies as supported, enabled, and working for a decade now.  

 07/31/2014 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
spiceygas
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/17/2011

I think I'm having the same problem.  I've been posting about it on another forum: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1040988269

 

Basically, I've got an R9 290 with 3x1 in portrait eyefinity.  It works like a gem with the v13.12 drivers, but v14.4 and v14.7 Beta are a disaster.

 08/16/2014 08:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mict
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/16/2014

Still the same problem in 14.7 rc3. Oh well, back to 13.12...


Send feedback at http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D24ABFA14F if you think it makes any difference, I've tried and reported every driver version since 13.12.

Statistics
84722 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.