Topic Title: Can't connect 3 monitors
Topic Summary: Help requested
Created On: 07/05/2014 03:23 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/05/2014 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
woutersje
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/05/2014

Hi guys/girls,

I just bought myself 2 new screens samsung S22D390 which i was planning to use as an extender of my fov in racing games with my main screen dell U2412M.

The problem is that i can only get 2 screens to work at 1 time, I have connected my middle screen (Dell) with DVI > DVI, left screen (samsung) Mini display port > HDMI and the right screen (other samsung) HDMI > HDMI

I've read about having 2 legacy screen and 1 native (which i presume is my Mini-DP > HMDI

The third screen does show up in the setting but i cannot activate it

Thanks for your help already!

 07/06/2014 07:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

That Mini-DP > HDMI adapter must be "active" for eyefinity for work. Some newer R9 series gpu's don't even need DP to run 3 monitors at once, but since you didn't specify your gpu, there is no way to know.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 07/06/2014 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
woutersje
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/05/2014

Originally posted by: zipsi That Mini-DP > HDMI adapter must be "active" for eyefinity for work. Some newer R9 series gpu's don't even need DP to run 3 monitors at once, but since you didn't specify your gpu, there is no way to know.

 

This is how i connected the monitors 

http://img850.imageshack.us/img850/7229/mo6l.png

and this is my gpu

http://img842.imageshack.us/img842/7940/q2k2.png

AAAAAAND... this is the DP cable

http://www.techlink.uk.com/products/wires_cables/iwires/iwires_mini_displayport_plug_to_hdmi_plug

 



Edited: 07/06/2014 at 12:09 PM by woutersje
 08/28/2014 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sleepwalker359
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 12/13/2009

I noticed that your dell U2412M. has a display port input ,you need to use that monitor with a mini diisplay port to display port adapter (passive not active ) and use that as your native monitor (the center monitor).This setup will work the best



-------------------------




  1. W7/pro(64)-i7-3930k unlocked/ Asus Rampage IV Extreme/ 32GB DDR3 1600/SapphireRadeonHD7990 6G/ Gigabyte GV-R7970C-3G/ 256gb OCZ Vector/1TB WD/ Corsair AX1200i/CM-HAF X



Statistics
87466 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.